Really Great Guacamole

Guacamole is one of my favorite foods in the world. I could easily eat a whole bowl by myself, and if I see it on the menu of a Mexican restaurant, I have to have it — which is why I tend to avoid Mexican restaurants.

A bowl of guacamole

Yes, guacamole is high in fat and calories, because avocados are high in fat and calories, and guacamole is mainly an excuse for showing off the tastiness of avocados. But avocados have the good kind of fat, so it’s okay to indulge every now and then. I think guacamole should be pure, not muddied up with mayonnaise or sour cream or a lot of additions, as some recipes will have you do. Really ripe avocados* are tasty enough by themselves, so why throw any unnecessary ingredients into the mix?

*How do you know if an avocado is really ripe? Squeeze it — it should have some give, but you shouldn’t be able to smoosh it. If it’s not ripe yet, let it sit out on the counter for a couple of days and it will ripen on its own.

Guacamole

  1. Remove the flesh from 1 avocado and chop, reserving the pit (how to chop an avocado).
  2. Mix in:

    • 1 tbsp. red onion, diced
    • ¼ tsp. garlic, minced
    • 1 tbsp. lime juice
    • 1 tsp. fresh chile, cayenne or hot sauce
    • pinch salt
  3. Mash with a fork.
  4. Taste and adjust salt, hot sauce, lime juice or garlic to suit.

Notes: All amounts are approximate — guacamole is a matter of taste, not measurements. A drizzle of olive oil may be necessary. A small amount of chopped tomato, cilantro or crumbled queso fresco is appropriate, but not at all required.

Let the mixture sit a few minutes so the flavors can mingle, but serve within one hour for best results. (If you must let it sit longer, bury the avocado pit in the guacamole and cover with plastic wrap, pressing the plastic against the surface of the guacamole; this will prevent the avocado from turning brown.)

This recipe serves 2-4 people, depending on how much they love guacamole, but it can be easily doubled, tripled or quadrupled for more guests.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Really Great Guacamole

  1. Jenn 9 September 2007 at 3:51 pm

    I love guacaomole as well.. I know eat them with roasted garlic pita.. and it’s delicious! I have started adding a couple tablespoons of plain yogurt and top it with fresh tomato.
    I am always looking for new ways to make it though, so I will check out your recipe as soon as I can!

    http://www.chocolateshavings.ca

  2. porcalina 11 September 2007 at 2:30 pm

    That’s what I put in my guacamole too. Minus the hot sauce. I could eat it forever.

  3. Pam 12 September 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Oh, I agree. A simple quacamole that lets the flavor of the avocado shine through is the best.

  4. [...] food: Guacamole (September) — I can always rely on this tried-and-true [...]

  5. Calories in avocado 11 September 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Yummmmm, off to the kitchen….

  6. [...] with shredded beef or pork, if you prefer.) I like to mix it up with the toppings, offering salsa, guacamole, sour cream, lettuce and tomato, and/or raw onion as the mood strikes me. Shredded cheese is not [...]

  7. [...] the finishing touches. Lettuce, tomato and sour cream are naturals. Also think pickled jalapenos, guacamole, raw onion or whatever you [...]

  8. Super Bowl Menu « Simply Cooking 7 February 2010 at 9:12 am

    [...] kinds of dip: guacamole and sun-dried tomato [...]

  9. The Master Recipes « Simply Cooking 16 July 2010 at 2:27 pm

    [...] Guacamole [...]

  10. [...] soups; bean or vegetable cake; pasta and vegetarian sauce; bruschetta; spread such as hummus or guacamole on whole-wheat [...]

  11. [...] feel like snacking on the weekends, and I think I have perfected my recipe over time. I have posted my recipe for guacamole here before, so in this post, I’ll share some tips I have learned about making a truly great guacamole. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,053 other followers

