What’s Cooking in January

Close up of the black-eyed pea
Image via Wikipedia

I can’t decide what to make on New Year’s Eve. It’s just going to be my hubby and me. I know I want to cook something fun, but what? Should I make pizza? Or a selection of finger foods? What about something sweet? Does anyone have suggestions?

And what about for dinner on New Year’s Day? I don’t think I want to make the traditional collards and black-eyed peas this year. Those aren’t exactly my favorite foods. I was thinking something more along the lines of beans and rice, but I can’t make up my mind.

I hope this indecisiveness isn’t an indication of my frame of mind for 2009.

Visitors to my blog have been all over the place too, looking for everything from lasagna to a simple tomato sauce for pasta, from roasted chicken breasts and vegetables to stir-fry, from sour cream dip to sorbet. I hope whatever you choose to make to celebrate the new year, it turns out fabulous. And that we can all stick to our new year’s resolutions. I suggest soup, the perfect diet food.

Meanwhile, here are just a couple of eye-catching recipes and other things from the web:

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: ,

7 thoughts on “What’s Cooking in January

  1. pam 30 December 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I can’t decide what I want to make for New Years Eve either! I’ve been tossing ideas around all day. I’m sort of leaning towards chicken and dumplings just because I’ve been craving it. I will be making the black-eyed peas and collard greens on New Years Day because I can’t imagine not making it. Like some sort of sudden bad luck would befall me if I didn’t.

  2. [...] What’s Cooking in January [...]

  3. Hoppin’ John « Simply Cooking 11 January 2009 at 11:25 am

    [...] the Web: Cooking TipsNew Year’s Customs and Traditions « Follow Me Here… on What’s Cooking in Januarypam on What’s Cooking [...]

  4. [...] What’s Cooking in January [...]

  5. Happy New Year | Follow Me Here… 31 December 2011 at 2:51 am

    [...] What’s Cooking in January [...]

  6. Happy New Year! « Follow Me Here… 31 December 2012 at 9:05 am

    [...] What’s Cooking in January [...]

  7. Happy New Year! | Follow Me Here... 30 December 2013 at 11:45 pm

    […] What’s Cooking in January […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,063 other followers

