How to Roast Chicken Breasts

Note: I have updated this popular post based on the comments I have received to add more detail to the instructions.

We have roasted chicken breasts a lot. They are simple to cook and you don’t have to do much to them. Between the two of us, we can eat one of those gigantic organic bone-in breasts from the local Whole Paycheck, but I always cook two so there are leftovers for sandwiches, salads and soups or just to eat cold. Yum.

Roasted Chicken Breast

Time for me to get on my soapbox. I know organic is something of a joke because these are still gigantic chicken-processing plants where the chickens are all squeezed up together and sitting in their own poop, not local Farmer Joe’s with a yard full of happy little chickens scratching at grubs who just can’t wait to end up as my dinner. I’m reading Michael Pollan‘s book right now, so I am informed, ok? That being said, organic chicken tastes better. If you are going to eat chicken two or three times a week, and never eat beef or pork (which is how I force my husband to live), then it is worth spending the extra dollars to get something juicy and full of meat and tastes lip-smacking good simply roasted in the oven. No matter what, organic can never approach the full-on evil that is Tyson’s.

That being said, here is the best way, hands-down, to roast a couple of bone-in chicken breasts. This will produce a brown, crispy skin that you will not be able to resist, and life is short, anyway.

First, move the oven rack to the middle or lower-middle position and preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Choose an oven-safe skillet with high, straight sides. The high sides will help contain the fat as the chicken cooks and, I hope, prevent smoking and a messy oven.

Heat a mixture of butter and olive oil in the skillet on top of the stove over medium-high. For two breasts, I use 1 tbsp. of each. While that’s heating, rub the breasts with salt, pepper and, if you like, a seasoning mix of your choice (go to Penzey’s for lots of choices). You can also make your own spice rub fairly easily.

Brown the breasts in the pan on top of the oven, skin side down, without disturbing for a few minutes. Then turn them over with tongs so that the skin is on top and move the pan to the oven. Do not cover the pan; the skin will continue to crisp in the oven.

Let them cook for about 15 minutes in the oven, then flip them over again. Start checking for doneness at the 30-minute mark (or sooner, if the breasts are small). It is essential to have one of those nifty instant-read thermometers to determine when chicken is properly done. Stick the thermometer into the meatiest part of the chicken — avoiding the bone — and keep cooking until it registers 160 degrees. Depending on how meaty your breasts are, this may take up to 45 minutes total. Don’t worry, they are going to be juicy and succulent because of the little bit of butter they are cooking in.

Remember every oven is different. If you have problems with the oven smoking or the outsides getting too crisp too fast, try turning down the oven temperature to 425 degrees or moving the rack a little lower. And keep leaving me your feedback in the comments!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: ,

144 thoughts on “How to Roast Chicken Breasts

  1. Pan Sauces « Simply Cooking 9 November 2006 at 8:55 am

    [...] I used this “hunter style” pan sauce to flavor roasted chicken with great results. I mixed the sauce up in the roasting pan while the chicken was resting. [...]

  2. pam 1 April 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I am trying your recipe now; had a bit of hesitation with the high oven temp., but will give it a go. I used Mrs. Dash seasoning without additional salt and pepper. My goal is to have good tasting chicken I can slice cold for lunch sandwiches.
    Thanks so much for your info. Appreciate it!

  3. stitchripper 6 April 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Can you put potatoes in the same pan with the chicken while you do this?

  4. Shannon 7 April 2008 at 9:43 am

    Sure you can, just cut them up so they’ll cook in the same amount of time. Other veggies work well too. Last night I roasted chicken breasts with baby carrots and it was delish!

  5. [...] on Now That I’ve Experienced Childbirth, a Few ReactionsShannon on How to Roast Chicken Breastscooknkate on Now That I’ve Experienced Childbirth, a Few Reactionsstitchripper on How to [...]

  6. Nancy 23 May 2008 at 7:32 pm

    In response to roasting the breasts with potatoes, I often add potatoes,
    carrots and celery (all lightly tossed in olive oil with salt and pepper) with the breasts.
    It’s so easy and a great meal even the kids like.

  7. [...] those chicken breasts gorgeous? I often pan-roast bone-in chicken breasts using a combination of stovetop and oven cooking. But I tend to use other techniques for cooking [...]

  8. Nicole 2 November 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Made this recipe twice already. Insanely good! So juicy despite the high cooking temp. The pan searing seals in the moisture, I think. YUMMY!

  9. [...] matter what, organic can never approach the full-on evil that is Tyson’s. How to Roast Chicken Breasts « Simply Cooking   « If by a liberal, they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind … someone [...]

  10. Michelle 14 December 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I am just wondering, what kind of seasonings do you put on your chicken? I am kind of a newbie on cooking chicken & I have no idea what to use.

  11. Shannon 15 December 2008 at 8:16 am

    Michelle: Well, you can’t go wrong with salt and pepper. If you buy good chicken, they will be very flavorful with just these simple seasonings.

    I like to experiment with different spice mixes. I order them from Penzey’s, which has a great selection.

    You can also make your own spice paste to rub on the chicken before cooking. Here is the basic recipe and some suggested flavor combinations: http://simplycooking.wordpress.com/2007/07/12/spice-pastes-for-grilling-season/

  12. Michelle 15 December 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Thank you! Will try this tonight!

  13. Debra McNeill 17 December 2008 at 5:22 pm

    are you saying to roast the chicken bone side up in the oven

  14. Michelle 17 December 2008 at 6:03 pm

    This may sound like a dumb question but do you put the lid on your roasting pan when it is in the oven?

  15. Shannon 17 December 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Debra: Skin-side-up for the first 15 minutes, then flip. I usually flip again toward the end of cooking time.

    Michelle: No, leave the lid off to help crisp the skin.

    Hope that helps! I may need to rewrite this recipe thanks to all these great questions i’m getting.

  16. Cathy 26 January 2009 at 11:23 am

    I tried this last night. It turned out fine, and it was very tasty, but it made a real mess in my oven, and the kitchen was full of smoke while it was cooking. I was afraid the fire alarm was going to go off! Maybe next time I’ll use your tip about searing the chicken first in a pan on the stove, and then I’ll cook it outside on the barbecue.

  17. Shannon 26 January 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Cathy: I have never had that problem. I usually cook mine is a skillet with high straight sides that contain the splatters, on the middle rack. You may want to try moving your rack down a little farther or turn the heat down some if your oven runs too hot.

  18. Carolyn 25 July 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Thanks for this recipe. The flavor was incredible! I stuck with just salt and pepper for seasoning – this method enhanced the flavor of the chicken so much that it didn’t need any other seasoning. The pan drippings pushed the dish over the edge. This recipe is a definite keeper. Thank you again and Aloha.

  19. Richard 12 November 2009 at 3:55 pm

    your instructions read:

    Then turn them over with tongs so that the skin is on top and move the pan to the oven. Do not cover the pan; the skin will continue to crisp in the oven.

    Let them cook for about 15 minutes in the oven, then flip them over again.

    does this mean you end up skin side down in the oven for the last phase of roasting? seems counter-intuitive for crispy skin to me.

  20. Shannon 12 November 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Yes, that is what I mean. You also don’t want to blacken the skin. But please experiment and let us know if you get better results.

  21. Richard 16 November 2009 at 11:45 am

    Thanks for the response!

    I did a trial with the skin up 100% of the time, was nice and crisp the way I like it (albeit a little ‘blackened’).

    Next time I will do per your instructions and let you know what works best for me :)

  22. Jennifer 21 November 2009 at 7:42 pm

    I brine my breast. Talk about YUMMY! Right now trying a new recipe on some breast to try for my Thanksgiving turkey for next week. Brining meat is the way to go!

  23. Shannon 22 November 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Jennifer – I brine my chicken when I think about it, but most of the time I don’t plan far enough ahead. I agree, brining adds a lot of flavor and moisture, especially when cooking with high heat.

  24. Gosia 24 November 2009 at 10:09 pm

    this is my all time go-to recipe. My husband and baby love it! it never fails me…thanks!!

  25. Stephen 28 December 2009 at 10:58 am

    Many of scientific cooking articles and cooking shows like “Good Eats” say to pan-sear after oven roasting. After trying it myself, I’m convinced that it’s true. Pan-shearing after oven cooking keeps more of the juices and flavor than before the oven. You should try browning the chicken on the stove top after baking it sometime and check the results. I also found that my meats bake in less time when I don’t sear before the oven.

  26. Shannon 28 December 2009 at 11:08 am

    Thanks for the suggestion–I will try it next time.

  27. Talia 2 January 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Thank you so much for this recipe. I’m kind of a disaster in the kitchen but this was super easy and tastes AMAZING! I used your pan sear technique and then added roughly chopped carrots and potatoes to the pan and put it in a 450 degree oven for about 40 minutes.
    I’ll be making this recipe often! Thanks again!

  28. Shannon 3 January 2010 at 8:58 am

    Talia- I’m glad this method works so well for you. I love it!

  29. [...] my cooking blog, Simply Cooking, check out how to make lasagna, sorbet, roasted chicken breasts, quick and easy tomato sauce for pasta and pan-fried chicken and [...]

  30. [...] Tomato Sauce for PastaGood reading on my other blogs: 2009 edition « Blog, by Shannon on How to Roast Chicken BreastsGood reading on my other blogs: 2009 edition « Blog, by Shannon on How to Make SorbetGood [...]

  31. Sandy 2 February 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Thank you so much for this recipe. I have been cooking chicken breast for many years now, and have yet to find a method that is simple and tasty and most of all JUICY!! Not only do I love this recipe, but my family as well. It’s a winner. Thanks for sharing!

  32. [...] on Pre-washed Salad Needs More WashingKate on Pre-washed Salad Needs More WashingSandy on How to Roast Chicken BreastsMarty Molloy on Clean Out Your [...]

  33. tini 8 February 2010 at 9:06 pm

    tried the recipe above with such great result, although I didn’t flip the chicken thigh, but it was still good; the skin wasn’t blacken too badly. I marinated my chicken with fresh black pepper and garlic that has been crushed together in a mortar; I placed the garlic and pepper underneathe the skin of the chicken thigh; season it with more salt and pepper; you can add other spices as well, such as rosamary, lemon. came out delicious.

  34. [...] my cooking blog, the usual suspects are at the top. People still want to know how to make lasagna, roasted chicken breasts, sorbet and quick tomato sauce for pasta. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)A Few [...]

  35. [...] spring onions right now. Cut off the root ends and all but an inch or so of the green stalks. Then roast with some chicken. You will thank [...]

  36. Miss M 9 June 2010 at 4:22 pm

    I hadn’t thought of doing this with chicken breasts. I’ve done a version of Alton Brown’s hot & fast roast turkey a couple of times with fantastic results. It’s scary cooking it like that, but it’s the juiciest breast ever!

    I can’t brine anymore, since my uncle’s on a reduced-salt diet, and my mom is on a severely reduced-salt diet, but I’m going to try this tonight. It doesn’t require brining, so it should be good. :)

  37. [...] like chicken, I have 3 or 4 techniques in my repertoire, depending on whether I’m cooking bone-in pieces, boneless breasts or [...]

  38. [...] grill, pan-fry (cutlets), pan-roast (boneless breasts) or roast (bone-in pieces); substitute shrimp or scallops for boneless [...]

  39. John Riggs 9 August 2010 at 10:05 pm

    So far I haven’t had much success with the chicken breasts, but it sounds good and I’m going to try it !!!!!!!!
    Thanks. J

  40. Kristin 20 September 2010 at 3:59 pm

    I have tried this recipe and it turns out great and oh so yummy every time. Thanks so much!

  41. Thea 29 September 2010 at 10:39 am

    This was amazing! Added my own little flavors for the rub, including rosemary! We eat chicken a lot and my husband just loved it! Thanks!

  42. Alex 26 January 2011 at 8:14 pm

    First time this came out fantastic, absolutely delicious chicken. The butter/olive oil really does stop it drying out and becoming stringy – it came out perfectly moist. The temperature recommended was slightly too high for my oven even on the lowest shelf, but I turned it down a notch and it came out great. What I did like was the fact that if, like me, you like the chicken quite well cooked a crispy, you can brown it for slightly longer before you put it in the oven to get it just how you like it.

  43. Maureen 1 February 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Used an Umbrian rub that I got last year on plain old supermarket chicken, onion quarters and 5 cloves of garlic in a LeCreuset oval roaster. Delicious and done in less than 45 min. That is REAL fast food.

  44. Shannon 1 February 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Love it!

  45. Kelly 7 February 2011 at 2:42 pm

    Thank you for this very easy chicken recipe! I am not a great cook (although I aspire to be) and have always made “boneless, skinless chicken breasts.” I did not know what to do with chicken with bones and skin!!! This was not only easy to follow, but my husband actually saved the leftovers!!! He said it was amazing! (and it was)!
    Looking forward to more recipes from this site!
    ~Kelly

  46. Adeline Dickman 12 February 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Thank you for this awesome recipe. I tried it last night and was so happy with it. I was afraid to cook bone in chicken breast because it dries out on me. Your instructions help me to avoid that and it was actually the best I have ever tasted! Thank you!

  47. Prabir 12 February 2011 at 9:19 pm

    I love culinary activities and have developed thirty-two some products for the non-cooks to facilitate cooking many international delicacies.

    Tonight I tried your recipe and it worked out very well. The same technique can yield in many varieties of preparation starting from Indian to Chinese just varying the rub by adding some additional spices such as garam masala (mixture of cinnamon, cardamom, and clove), garlic, roasted cumin powder, soy sauce, ginger, etc.

  48. Nigel 14 February 2011 at 4:44 pm

    I have to thank you so much! this was a perfect Valentine’s day dish to make for my girlfriend, and it definitely got me out of the dog house. And the meal came out great. Thank you again.

  49. Shannon 14 February 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Wow, I’m happy that roast chicken was able to do that for you, Nigel.

  50. Amy 22 March 2011 at 12:51 pm

    This sounds so delicious! I have only ever made boneless, skinless chicken breast, but it is becoming too expensive and I wanted to try something different so bought bone-in, skin-on breast to try tonight. Am so excited to try this that I wish I could cook it right now (at 11am…haha). I am not much of a cook so we will see how goes.

  51. Steve 23 March 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Thank you. Followed your directions and the breasts turned out beatifully.
    Wife loved them. Will be a repeat .Thanks

  52. Pennyjeans 2 April 2011 at 3:09 pm

    I, too, used to only have boneless, skinless chicken breasts in my kitchen repertoire and tried bone-in chicken roasting when I saw Melissa D’Arabian do a honey-orange glazed version that read almost exactly like this recipe above. It’s delicious and juicy with this method using just salt and pepper + other spices, for sure, so thanks! (And the honey-orange deal adds a nice flavor and sticky texture, too, so try that one some night, too. I’m sure the recipe must still be on foodnetwork.com. )

    Has anyone tried this in a convection microwave oven? I’m not suggesting using microwave, but searing stovetop, followed by time in the convection. I’m just wondering if less time is needed or a lower temperature, given the convection air circulation. If anyone’s tried this, do tell!

    Thanks, Shannon!

  53. Laurna 19 April 2011 at 11:21 am

    Thanks for the directions… Tried it last night and was amazed how the breasts stayed so succulent !! I made some stir fry veg and new potatoes… DELISH !! ;-)

  54. bill 6 May 2011 at 6:28 pm

    what a hypocritical recipe —- never eat red meat or pork, but its ok to eat the chicken skin because life is short anyways…….. yea you’re informed………..

  55. Shannon 6 May 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Well, Bill, I’m not sure how the recipe is hypocritical. Certainly, you’re entitled to your opinion about my food choices, but they are my choices, not yours. And since your comment is rude, I don’t see why your opinion should matter to me or anyone else who stops by. Cheers!

  56. Dan 19 May 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Used my 4 qt Le Creuset oven roaster to fry on the gas stove(and keep the mess to a minimum), then into the oven at 425, turned out wonderful, thanks! Used TJoe’s 21-spice blend and some salt and pepper.

  57. Emily 23 May 2011 at 10:09 pm

    I came across your recipe from a Google search and tried it tonight!
    I experimented by browning all 4 breasts in the cast iron skillet first, but then when I moved it to the oven, I left only 2 in the skillet and put the other 2 in a ceramic casserole.
    The higher sides of the ceramic dish kept that half of my oven much cleaner, but the skin got a little soggy. The iron skillet chicken, however, was perfect. The skin was so crisp, then just melted in my mouth. The meat was marvelous and juicy both ways.
    I was looking for an easy way to cook a batch of chicken breasts for the week, and this was great. And as a bonus, my kitchen smells AMAZING now. Thanks so much!

    Oh, and by the way–I followed your instructions as listed: cooking skin side up, then down, then finishing with skin up for the last couple of minutes. It was perfect.

  58. Shannon 24 May 2011 at 8:35 am

    Emily: I am so glad this worked so well for you. I usually use the same skillet on stovetop and in the oven too. But I haven’t used a cast iron skillet for this method yet. I will have to try that.

  59. Taresa 17 June 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Hi Shannon! Could I make this with boneless, skinless too? That’s all I’ve got in the fridge tonight.

  60. Shannon 18 June 2011 at 9:08 am

    Taresa- With boneless, skinless breasts, I usually pan-roast them. It’s a similar method but the never go in the oven. There’s a recipe for that on the site as well.

  61. Ashley 18 June 2011 at 10:24 am

    A comment to “bill”, who wrote “what a hypocritical recipe…. yea you’re informed”….

    It’s sad that you have yet to realize that (1), although YOU may be convinced that your world view is superior to others, you don’t realize that not only is it incorrect, but also that NOONE will see it important enough to ever give a consideration to what you say, and (2) you could express dissent without resorting to vitriol. Too bad for you, because you are the kind of person who won’t be missed when you are gone.

    But let’s get back to the real reason for my reply… I love the recipe! I often get overwhelmed by recipes that I can’t follow… but this one is a keeper! Thanks!

  62. David D. Marshall 3 July 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Wow! I really enjoyed preparing Roast Chicken a la Shannon! It turned out just as advertised! Yummy!

    I went to Duke and UNC for graduate and law degrees, respectively. I recently moved to Pennsylvania. I cannot tell you how much I already miss the research triangle area. But I guess we have one advantage here over NC: the Amish. I now get all my vegetables, eggs, and chicken from an Amish couple at the local Farmer’s Market. I know the chickens are free-range because I visited the farm. The feed is organic–they showed it to me when I asked.

    Thanks again for a wonderful, simple recipe, and for bringing me my first few tears of nostalgia.

  63. Shannon 3 July 2011 at 7:58 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe. Thanks for the great comment! You’re right, we have no Amish here that I know of, but we do have some great local farmers. Come back and visit sometime.

  64. Elana 12 August 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I had always been intimidated by anything other than the ol’ boneless skinless breasts. Once I tried your recipe I was hooked! My husband and 3 little kids love it, too! Thank you!

  65. Shannon 13 August 2011 at 8:47 am

    Elana- I’m so glad you liked it and branched out of your comfort zone. The leftovers are great for sandwiches, salads, soups or just eating cold.

  66. brian 18 September 2011 at 5:09 pm

    try cutting potatos and carrots, coat with olive oil, s/p, garlic, and maybe rosemary or thyme, and put around chicken when you put the breasts in the oven. a complete meal and an absolute favorite. amazing how good peasant food is!

  67. wendy 21 September 2011 at 6:56 am

    OMG! I just tried this last night. I found your recipe just by googling how to roast chicken breast. The skin didn’t “crisp” up as much as I thought it would, but this was the juiciest chicken I’ve ever had. So delish. Maybe I had the pan too low in the oven, I mean it was way down there. Maybe next time I’ll put it one notch higher and see what happens. Thanks for the recipe, it is a keeper!

  68. Christi Cassidy 10 October 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Wonderful! The perfect recipe. But can I take it out 5 minutes before I think it’s done (at 150 or 155 degrees) and let it “rest,” thus letting the temp rise?

  69. Christi Cassidy 10 October 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Also, I used Alice Waters’ trick of salting and peppering the chicken breasts “up to two days” prior to roasting. Oh, that’s a good tip, works like a dream for sealing in juices. I seasoned these two precisely two days ago. With this recipe, a dream.

  70. Shannon 11 October 2011 at 8:38 am

    Sure, if you’re using a thermometer to check that the internal temperature is safe, I don’t see why you can’t do that. My thermometer doesn’t work to great so I mostly go on visuals to determine when it’s done.

  71. Kim, amateur wildlife enthusiast 12 October 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Such a great idea! I also use your method for a fairly quick version of chicken noodle soup when I don’t have time to make homemade stock. I use my large enameled cast iron pot to sear then bake the chicken. I add in some diced onions after the first chicken flip. Once done, remove chicken from pot to cool and shred, put the pot with onions back on the stove over medium, add a little white wine and scrape up all the yummy browned bits. Then add chicken broth/stock and proceed with soup recipe. It adds so much flavor to store-bought stock!

  72. Shannon 12 October 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Kim, that sounds really good.

  73. john 15 October 2011 at 7:39 pm

    You assert “organic” chicken is better because you read a book that says so lol, but you don’t elaborate as to why it would taste better. Anyway it’s good to know there is another organic lover, as I write this in my organic locally grown cotton t-shirt with my organic socks next to my rack of organic paper towels.

    But seroiusly good recipe, it worked out great for me.

  74. Shannon 16 October 2011 at 9:35 am

    Actually, John, I assert that it tastes better because I eat it and to me it, um, tastes better. What’s so hard to understand about that?

  75. Ernie 31 October 2011 at 6:22 pm

    I have the chicken ta-ta’s in the oven now; the aroma is intoxicating. I made my own rub with basil, marjoram, oregano, garlic powder, crushed rosemary, and of course salt and pepper. For the novice cook, smell the spices and imagine them mixed with the taste of the dish. For me, if it doesn’t smell right it doesn’t go in or on.

  76. Vahan 17 November 2011 at 3:05 am

    This was an excellent recipe…I used my Le Cruset and some of my own spice rub. I just made it for my girlfriend’s birthday dinner with some heirloom fingerling potatoes. Nice crispy skin….I have to admit I rubbed a little love (butter with spices) on the inside of the Chicken breast. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Oh, and yeah the quality of the chicken breast certainly makes a difference.

  77. Rachel 19 November 2011 at 10:00 pm

    First of all, congrats on reaching the top of the google search! I looked around a bit on epicurious and food network, but yours was truly amazing.

    I have only one question: You say that the skin will crisp up in the oven, yet you say to flip the breasts over, skinside down after fifteen minutes. In my experience, this makes the skin soft again, and I looooove the skin when it’s crispy, however, I don’t want to sacrifice the juiciness of the chicken. Is there a way to have both? Also, you don’t say what level of fire when you are pan searing the chicken. High? Low? Medium? How many minutes per side? How big a pan? Just curious.

    My favorite method with this is a rub of salt, pepper, garlic powder, a dash of cayenne, and smoked paprika (makes all the difference!) I have cooked it on it’s own, but today tried it over delicata squash (perfect for this time of year, but summer squash works too) and carrots with a bit of thyme. Wow. It’s great with long grain and wild rice with red grapes. Weird sounding I know, but it works.

    Any advice on the skin would be great, but I’m happy in any case.

  78. Rachel 19 November 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Oh PS, I think organic chicken is definitely important – free range even better. “Fed an all vegetarian diet” is not necessarily a good thing. I find my chickens are better when they are able to roam around eating bugs and whatever they please.

    In my experience, the phrase, “tastes like chicken” came about because chicken started tasting like NOTHING when they started feeding it only corn and pumping it full of hormones, not letting them walk.

    Real chicken tastes buttery even without butter!

  79. Shannon 20 November 2011 at 10:18 am

    Hi, Rachel, thanks for the good comments and good questions. I cook a lot by appearance and my other senses, so I don’t get rigid about things like temperature and times. I usually start out a little over medium and lower it a bit after the chicken starts to brown, but my stove cooks hot. I usually use a 12-inch braising pan, so a fairly large pan, but again, that depends on how much chicken you are cooking.

    As for the skin, I think you want to leave them skin side down for less time than they were cooked skin side up. Maybe flip one more time and finish cooking skin side up. I haven’t really thought about this, because I haven’t noticed a problem with the skin getting soft, so next time I make this, I’ll pay more attention and post additional notes.

  80. Anne Castrillon 23 November 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Thanks for an amazing guide, my roasted chicken came out great and tasted delicious!

  81. Rebecca Longmire 4 December 2011 at 9:48 pm

    AMAZING!! Chicken was perfect as were the carrots and cauliflower I put in the pan as well! Thank you!! :)

  82. Annie 5 December 2011 at 2:52 am

    This looks fantastic! A couple questions – One, do you rinse your chicken before cooking? I never know if this is necessary, but always end up doing it anyways. Two, I’ve been looking for skin-on, bone-in chicken breasts in my grocery stores and have only been able to find skin-on, on the rib breasts. Haven’t looked at Whole Foods yet though. Is this combo commonly sold?

  83. Shannon 5 December 2011 at 9:35 am

    I usually forget to rinse my chicken. I don’t know if it makes any difference. I have been buying my chicken from my local food coop. It is locally sourced chicken sold in all sorts of cuts, so that doesn’t really help you any, but you could try at Whole Foods. Also, you could buy a whole chicken and use the other parts for another meal or for making stock.

  84. Debi Reininger 10 December 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Making your chicken breast tonight, they smell wonderful and were done in 30 minutes. Haven’t tasted them yet but I know they are going to be great. Did set off the smoke alarm at 450 to turned down to 425. Thanks for the great recipe.

  85. Shannon 11 December 2011 at 10:28 am

    It is important in any recipe to know your oven and adjust the temperature as you need to. This was a lesson that took me a long time to learn–it’s okay to change the temperature.

  86. Mike 15 December 2011 at 12:36 am

    I followed these directions, except I used skinless chicken which I marinated overnight. I can cook about 3 things. It tasted fantastic. Now I can cook 4 things.

  87. Bri 17 December 2011 at 8:46 pm

    I don’t know if anyone else noticed this, but you said to cook until the therm says 160. I just checked mine at 164 degrees, and the juices were not *quite* clear. Also my thermometer says to cook poultry to 180 degrees. Might you put up an amendment to that?

  88. pammarie 4 January 2012 at 4:42 pm

    gonna try this tonight and will post the results tomorrow!

  89. Stephanie 4 January 2012 at 9:26 pm

    I just made your recipe, I have LP so it seems hotter so I set temp for 400. I had 2 beautiful large bone in breasts and roasted them for around 50 min. I used my Le Creuset Dutch oven It was perfect. My 15 year old son said “the chicken is so juicy, I love it!”. I can usually get these at a great price and my family ate one, and there is one left over! Thanks

  90. Costa Mesa Bail Bonds 8 January 2012 at 10:17 am

    I savor, cause I found exactly what I was having a look for. You’ve ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  91. Elaine 17 January 2012 at 3:42 pm

    I roasted some chicken fillets today using your method and it was lovely. Thank you!

  92. raven 20 January 2012 at 3:31 am

    I googled recipes for this, and came to you. Chicken was great, crispy skin, moist and succulent inside. My bf had a very bad day at work and coming home to this made it so much better..thanks:0)

  93. Terri 25 January 2012 at 12:18 pm

    Great recipe….easy and very tasty. Thanks!!

  94. jivamukta 25 January 2012 at 5:54 pm

    This is, hands down, the BEST roasted chicken I have ever had. Thank you!!!

  95. [...]  However, if you’re planning on using chicken and your stove/oven you may want to try this method.  It is the absolute BEST way to oven roast chicken.  I promise it will come out perfectly [...]

  96. Tami 30 January 2012 at 4:54 pm

    I have made this several times and IT ROCKS!
    Thanks for sharing!!

  97. Paula 31 January 2012 at 8:32 pm

    Made this chicken using Amish dill butter and Penzey 32nd rub. Added baby carrots and it was delicious!

  98. Katie 6 February 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Your recipe is in the oven now. I’m a student learning how to cook the basics and this was really helpful! Thanks for posting recipes that are simple and easy to change depending on what I have in my kitchen, we need more blogs like this!

  99. michelle 12 February 2012 at 7:52 pm

    I have never written a comment for a recipe yet but I have to for this chicken—AWESOME!! And my family loved it and it was really easy. Thank you so much. Need to add one other thought…I”m maybe a bit older than you?? Not sure but I try to be more healthy food minded as I get older but also keep it in perspective…my parents, both in their 80′s and have always been healthy, grew up on farms(during the depression) ….ate a lot of chicken(and other meat) that was not fda approved or inspected or ran free of stress on an open farm.And,while it’s important to have those safe guards, sometimes we tend to get a bit carried away with all this free range talk. Each person should have the freedom to choose how and what he/she eats but we don’t have to mandate that for others. Thanks for that recipe!!!

  100. Shannon 12 February 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Michelle: I’m glad you liked the recipe. I too don’t think we should mandate what others eat, but I do think we should strive as much as we can to buy meat from animals which were raised sustainably and humanely. This supports farmers who practice our values and also the meat does taste better. If we can’t achieve that 100%, that’s okay. I think it is the mindfulness that is important. Change happens gradually, but it is happening, and I am glad that we have more choices today.

  101. Regina 21 February 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Hi. Thank you for the recipe. I just made this tonight and the chicken was delicious and moist. Thumbs up from my hubby too. Thank you again!

  102. Diana 1 March 2012 at 5:10 pm

    Will a roasting pan do the same job as the skillet?

  103. Shannon 1 March 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Sure, I use a roasting pan sometimes.

  104. Patti 2 March 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Hi! I plan to cook these for a dinner party for 6 people. Are you roasting whole or half breasts?
    I will sear them in a pan on top of the stove, then roast them in the oven with veggies.
    Thank you, Patti

  105. Shannon 2 March 2012 at 6:46 pm

    I have only done half breasts with this method, Patti.

  106. apocalypticrabbit 7 March 2012 at 9:39 pm

    Excellent! Used my mega cast iron pan (bonus!–it gets an excellent experience in seasoning since I rarely fry on the stovetop). Yes, the oven got splattered a bit, but it needed to be cleaned anyway. I’ll try the Dutch oven next time to see if it makes a difference in keeping the oil effectively caged.

    I didn’t sear first but did melt the butter and olive oil together since putting a cold cast iron pan in a hot oven is not a great idea. My method did produce some beautifully browned crispy skin (which I sadly discarded). The Dutch oven method would probably require searing first to get the same brown crispy result. I started off (nervously, I admit) at 450, but had to drop it down to 425 about a half hour in because of a bit of smoking. The drop in temp took care of the smoke problem. In the end we had tender, well-cooked pterodactyl-sized breasts and they were finished within an amazing 40 minutes. Thank you so much. This is now my baked chicken breast go-to method.

  107. Jared Thompson 27 March 2012 at 8:37 pm

    I followed this recipe to a T and whipped up my own little rub. My chicken turned out perfectly. More than perfect, it was heaven. The skin was crispy, inside was cooked through and juicy, and I was moaning and groaning on every bite… (yeah i got into the food a little too much). Thanks for this. I feel this is the only way to cook chicken. If anyone is wondering, my rub was olive oil, salt and pepper, fresh thyme. rosemary. and tarragon, and cinnamon. I think the cinnamon adds a nice flavor.

  108. Jared Thompson 27 March 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Oh and it did smoke on 450 but I just turned on my fan oven and opened the windows. Who cares about smoke.. as long as your not choking in it

  109. BJ 31 March 2012 at 1:01 pm

    I made this chicken today. I cooked it at 435 degrees for the 1st 30 minutes. I turned it up to 450 degrees & baked it for another 30 minutes until it reached 160 degrees. This was delicious and took little effort. I only seasoned it with salt, pepper, and celery salt & butter. Thanks!

  110. allison 14 May 2012 at 3:58 pm

    YUM! Thanks; I had never roasted chicken before and this was a definite no-fail winner!!

  111. Mary dearth 15 May 2012 at 8:44 pm

    Hi Shannon! Can’t wait to try this recipe, but need a little bit more hand-holding first. How deep is the 12″ braising pan you use (you mentioned this in an earlier post)? It sounds like others have tried this using a Dutch oven. Do you think the extra depth will affect the crispness of the skin? Agree with you about the taste of organic chicken, by the way.

  112. Shannon 16 May 2012 at 8:31 am

    I use a pan that is fairly deep, although not as deep as a dutch oven. However, I don’t think the depth will affect the skin’s crunchiness.

  113. mikedio 22 May 2012 at 7:30 pm

    “Brown the breasts in the pan on top of the oven, skin side down,” Didn’t you mean —”on top of the range?”

  114. Shannon 22 May 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Yes, mikedio, same thing, isn’t it?

  115. Anh Duong 16 June 2012 at 9:31 pm

    This was so helpful! The chicken turned out great, i added potatoes and carrots to the chicken and it was a super easy and delicious meal. Thank you so much :)

  116. Sarah 21 June 2012 at 6:47 pm

    I used to have a problem with a smoky oven all the time, and I’ve found that if you throw some aluminum foil on the rack below the one you’re cooking on, it catches those little splashes and prevents them from getting all the way to the bottom of the oven, where the smoky problem starts.
    Great recipe, by the way – I never thought of flipping the chicken skin side down, but it works well! For those folks who worry about the skin getting soggy again, pop the breasts skin-side up in the broiler for a minute or two. Problem solved!

  117. Bill Compary 23 June 2012 at 1:46 pm

    ib1hayseed@aol.com
    Will try your method and see how I do. What I am doing now leaves the meat kinda mealy/gummy.
    does not taste bad but the texture is not proper I will let you know Thanks

  118. Kristi N. 20 July 2012 at 10:01 pm

    May I say YUM?!?!? :) Very simple, very delicious. I didn’t eat the skin (IBS disallows it, alas!), but the meat was tender and flavorful. Wonderful recipe, and I loved that the simple seasoning really allowed the flavor of the chicken to shine through. Thank you for posting! :)

  119. Dave J 16 August 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Really Good!!! Thanks for the tips!

  120. Roda 22 August 2012 at 10:13 am

    Can I do this with boneless , skinless breasts ??? Trying to find a way to roast chicken breast for my son’s lunch . Thanks :) .

  121. Shannon 26 August 2012 at 12:17 pm

    I think it’s better to pan-roast boneless chicken breasts. They don’t seem to get as dried out. Here’s a recipe: http://simplycooking.wordpress.com/2008/09/24/pan-roasting-boneless-chicken-breasts-a-no-fail-technique/

  122. Christie 26 August 2012 at 7:15 pm

    I cook a LOT and in all seriousness, this is one of the best things I’ve ever cooked!!! I came across your recipe via google; i added poultry seasoning to your rub recipe and cooked some carrots and potatoes in the pan w/the chicken. I literally wanted to lick my plate- instead I subtly scooped up the remaining pan drippings after! Thank you so much!

  123. Janis G/ 23 September 2012 at 5:50 pm

    I just made this is my gas oven. I made a rub of Greek Seasoning (I use it on everything) and added some onion salt, regular salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also used a cast iron 10″ skillet and did not have any smoking or splattering, just a wonderful smell. I’m also having mac and cheese, Stove Top Stuffing and a salad. I made 2 chicken breasts and will be taking one to work. I used regular chicken breasts, but you are correct. Free range and organic chicken just taste better. This is chicken country around here and I know how those other chickens live and die, but today I had no choice. Great recipe. Maybe Bill is a vegetarian or a Republican, huh? No offense to either.

  124. cookie 24 September 2012 at 4:18 pm

    These were “the bomb”. I had 7 chicken breasts and couldn’t fit them all in one fry pan, so I seasoned them with sea salt (generously), sprinkled with black pepper and browned them a few at a time in my cast iron skillet, then transferred them to a large foil turkey roasting pan and poured the butter/oil drippings over top of them. Once they were all browned I sliced a lemon, onion and garlic cloves, tossed them on top of everything along with some fresh rosemary sprigs, and put it all in the oven for about 30 min. at 450. Took them out and let them rest (uncovered so they wouldn’t get soggy) while I baked some cornbread muffins (about 15 min.). They were moist and yummy and the skin was perfection.

  125. Sarah 4 October 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I love this recipe. I have made this several times and each time the chicken is wonderful. It is never dry. I plan to make some tonight. I thought ahead and marinated my chicken breasts in buttermilk. Only because I wanted to try it out. I normally always marinate my boneless chicken in buttermilk. And thought why not try it on these. So we shall see. Thanks for the recipe.

  126. [...] Here’s a recipe I found online by another blogger named Shannon Turlington. [...]

  127. Dale B 29 December 2012 at 8:10 pm

    We used this recipe tonight using a large cast iron skillet and it turned out wonderful. We stock up when our locally based grocery store has the breasts on sale at $1.00 per pound. I look forward to the leftovers.

  128. Barbara 30 December 2012 at 11:03 am

    I brined the chicken, then cooked it in a large cast iron skillet. With the fat in the hot pan in the hot oven, my whole house filled with smoke! However, the chicken was delicious and moist. I added a little flour to the fat in the pan to make a roux, then added a cup of chicken broth and made a fabulous gravy. But next time I think I’ll have the oven temp a little lower!

  129. http://is.gd/ylWcCO 5 January 2013 at 7:35 am

    “How to Roast Chicken Breasts | Simply Cooking” was indeed a good post
    and I was in fact pretty glad to find it. Thanks a lot-Raphael

  130. Josie 8 January 2013 at 12:00 am

    Shannon, three years after you originally posted, your recipe is still going strong and pleasing the masses! I was trying to find a recipe similar to the chicken my Mom used to make, and this emulated it quite nicely! It came out just as I had hoped… juicy and flavorful, and the crispy skin was indeed irresistible! I mixed a garlic olive oil with my butter, and rubbed on sea salt, pepper, paprika, and a garlic herb seasoning blend. Yum! I also turned the breasts back to be skin up for about the final 5 minutes, but it looked like it would have been perfectly fine if I hadn’t. Thank you for sharing… this one’s a keeper!

  131. Lorrie 25 February 2013 at 7:28 pm

    This is a great way to cook bone in chicken breasts. They stay so juicy! Thank you for the ingredients and techniques that work so well. I have used the recipes 3 times and each time the chicken is so tasty. I’m using a cast iron (enameled) skillet and dropped the temp 25 degrees because I am browning it quite a bit in skillet before moving to oven. Thanks!

  132. Lizzie 9 April 2013 at 3:25 pm

    Can you make this with boneless Skinless chicken or will it just dry up?

  133. Shannon 9 April 2013 at 5:33 pm

    Lizzie- yes, it probably would dry out boneless chicken. For boneless breasts, I use a pan-roasting technique that I also posted on this blog.

  134. Cindy 28 April 2013 at 3:33 pm

    30 minutes was too long mine turned out to dry. They looked about perfect at 15 min in oven (and no they weren’t little) I have had a suspicion my oven runs to hot for awhile this confirms that to me. Next time they will be better

  135. Shannon 28 April 2013 at 4:20 pm

    Cindy – Yes, you definitely have to adjust for your particular oven, as all ovens seem to be slightly different. Nothing substitutes for your own observations.

  136. Dianne 26 August 2013 at 7:51 pm

    Cooked the chicken breast in a cast iron pan. 30 minutes was perfect. The one I ate was juicy and wonderful. Cook potatoes in pan and they were done also. This is a great method.

  137. D 2 September 2013 at 8:25 pm

    Thank you! Just had another bbq / off direct heat chicken breast cooking disaster. This recipe looks sure-fire and I will never go back.

  138. Hope Grinage 9 September 2013 at 4:52 pm

    HA!! Shannon, you are hysterical!!! And not a bad cook either! Thanks bunches!
    *dips signet ring in wax and applies firmly to recipe*

  139. Desiree 25 October 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Giving this a try tonight! :) Thanks for the recipe!

  140. John 6 November 2013 at 9:05 pm

    if your cooking with butter and eating the skin anyway then let the poor guy have some good Iberico Ham or Waygu Beef FCS.

  141. Kitkat 16 January 2014 at 4:18 pm

    The BEST organic chicken is Bell and Evans, NEVER comes out dry EVER and naturally tastes delicoius!Gonna cook my 2 B&E breastw this way tonight

  142. Sello Mathakhoe 22 February 2014 at 12:32 pm

    I think an electric frying pan to buy is something to take into consideration, especialy if you want a nicely roasted chicken

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CtL0OAbPyuc

  143. how to cook a turkey - Free PDF Search 10 March 2014 at 9:42 pm

    […] How to roast chicken breasts | simply cooking […]

  144. […] How to Roast Chicken Breasts | Simply Cooking – Jan 31, 2009  · Note: I have updated this popular post based on the comments I have received to add more detail to the instructions. We have roasted chicken breasts a lot. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,064 other followers

