Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Bacon and Fried Egg

Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Bacon and Fried Egg

Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Bacon and Fried Egg

This sandwich makes my husband lose his senses. I only make it for him once a year, on Father’s Day, which I’m sure you’ll understand once you look at the recipe. It’s not exactly the most healthy of breakfasts, but it is delicious!

The recipe comes from Sara Foster’s Casual Cooking, but the recipe is so simple that you’ll probably memorize it after making it once. There are a lot of steps, though, so make as much ahead as you can, and then assemble and grill the sandwiches right before serving.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Bacon and Fried Egg

Time to make: ~30 minutes
Yields: 1 sandwich

  • 2 slices bacon
  • 1 egg
  • 2 slices any kind of bread
  • butter
  • cheddar cheese, sliced

Fry the bacon until crispy. Drain on paper towels and set aside. Wipe out the pan.

Fry the egg in the same pan as the bacon to desired doneness. It is best to leave the yolk a little runny, as it makes the sandwich that much more delicious.

Heat a flat griddle over medium-high. Butter one side of each piece of bread. Assemble the sandwich with the cheese, egg and bacon, buttered sides out. Place the sandwich on the hot griddle and cook until well browned. Flip carefully and cook the other side. Serve right away.

Notes: If you are making several sandwiches, you will have to lower the heat between sandwiches or they will start to burn before the cheese gets melty.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

46 thoughts on “Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Bacon and Fried Egg

  1. Pat Turlington 3 July 2009 at 8:19 pm

    I guess I wouldn’t rate this but I can see why Marty likes it so much.

  2. Shannon 4 July 2009 at 8:47 am

    We can make them at the beach if you want!

  3. [...] Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Bacon and Fried Egg (simplycooking.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. [...] Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Bacon and Fried Egg [...]

  5. Gloria 21 August 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Yes the only thing missing is garden sliced tomatoes w salt and pepper and for me mustard!!!

  6. Rhonda 25 August 2012 at 7:17 pm

    This looks so yummy! My hubby would love this.

  7. Dee @ Sprinkle Some Sunshine 13 September 2012 at 12:02 am

    oh YUM! This is my kind of comfort food!! I wish I had one right now, your pic is perfect! :)

  8. Deborah - d.mooncrab 19 September 2012 at 2:34 am

    It looks so so good. I’m going to have to make next week

  9. chewybaca96 20 September 2012 at 7:49 pm

    I eat this all the time. I would go nuts if I only got it once a year.

  10. Shannon 20 September 2012 at 8:39 pm

    My husband probably feels the same way. :-)

  11. map vas 14 October 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Wouldn’t you like it better if the egg was cooked all the way? I would.

  12. Shannon 15 October 2012 at 8:36 am

    That’s a matter of preference. I like the runny yolk, which makes a kind of sauce for the sandwich.

  13. [...] which led me to the source, a fellow WordPress food blogger (check out her page and recipe here)! I consider grilled cheese to be one of my favorite foods and when combined with breakfast, [...]

  14. Doug Simms 19 October 2012 at 9:11 am

    For lunch we replace the egg with slices of fresh tomato and garnish with fresh basil.

  15. Yvette 27 October 2012 at 11:41 am

    Made them this morning – EGGcellent!! Thanks for sharing!

  16. Tracy 9 November 2012 at 6:54 pm

    i eat this all the time! but i use the bread for toast then put mayo on it! delish!!

  17. Jenny F. 14 November 2012 at 8:15 pm

    I think this may be our next ‘Breakfast for Dinner’ recipe! Yummy! Thanks for the idea!

  18. karen tucker 4 December 2012 at 4:37 pm

    Making this for the first time tonight. Hope its as yummy as it looks.

  19. Mrs. K 6 December 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Had these for dinner last night and will be making them again and again!

  20. [...] Thursday – Breakfast Grilled Cheese [...]

  21. angel 13 December 2012 at 4:16 am

    how do you fry the egg to look like that? it looks glorious =)

  22. Shannon 13 December 2012 at 9:03 am

    Thanks, I have two tips. First, don’t use too high a heat–about medium is good. I usually fry eggs sunny side up and put a clear lid over the frying pan. That let’s me see how the white is cooking and I can take it off the heat the second it’s done to my liking.

  23. sarhamarie 2 January 2013 at 11:22 am

    You could healthy them up by using Sara Lee 35 cal bread fry the eggs in fat free butter spray or nonstick spray use Bordens fat free cheese and add a little real bacon bits and I would add tomatoes fresh spinach onion and a little light mayo relish I love cooking these and if I don’t have bacon bits I use lean ham in its place mmmmm good

  24. Kim 3 January 2013 at 10:38 pm

    Try replacing the cheese with chunky peanut butter. I know it sounds odd but it is to die for!

  25. geradinemcc 7 January 2013 at 11:14 am

    So easy to make, so beautiful the picture and so hungry I am now! :-)

  26. Breakfast Grilled Cheese | anxietyandcoffee 19 January 2013 at 9:29 pm

    [...] Simply Cooking made this breakfast grilled cheese, and today, I had Code Boyfriend make me one. [...]

  27. Rachel Rita 21 January 2013 at 3:52 pm

    Thank you so much for this recipe, I can’t wait to try it out, and I think it’s one that my PICKY husband would enjoy as well. I can’t wait to read what your other recipes. Again, Thank You.

  28. Suzette 28 January 2013 at 3:29 pm

    A trick for both adding a little more crunch, toasty flavor and getting your cheese to melt… Don’t pre-assemble the sandwich. Butter one side of bread slices but lay the unbuttered side down on the griddle. Wait until it starts to toast then flip and put cheese immediately on it. Now lay the second slice of bread unbuttered side down and let it toast while you stack the ingredients on top of the cheese, add another slice of cheese on the top and flip the last piece of bread in place. (You may need to flip your whole sandwich right away now, because while you were assembling the buttered side down has been cooking.) I find this works beautifully as long as the heat on the griddle is not too high. If you’re doing multiples you can work two at a time and start the next two after the first two are fully assembled… kind of getting a syncopated rhythm going, lol. Works for any grilled cheesy sandwich.

  29. Jen 4 February 2013 at 12:28 am

    I do the same sandwich only add fried potatoes to it. You have all the components of breakfast in one sandwich :-) the yolk mixed with the potatoes is so yummy :-)

  30. Chrissie 16 February 2013 at 1:30 am

    Just made this tonight & it was GLORIOUS.

  31. [...] Full recipe HERE! [...]

  32. Shelby 22 March 2013 at 4:39 pm

    One word: AMAZING.

  33. Jeanne 2 April 2013 at 7:48 pm

    In regards to
    Notes: If you are making several sandwiches, you will have to lower the heat between sandwiches

    Maybe this might work

    http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/recipes/mousetrap.html

  34. [...] Grilled Cheese with Bacon and Fried Egg – Simply [...]

  35. susienotsohomemaker 18 April 2013 at 1:03 pm

    I just made this! Delicious, thanks for the inspiration!

  36. Nancy Kitahara 25 April 2013 at 1:45 pm

    Yes! Add home grown tomatoes!! Yummy!!!!!

  37. Dinner Prompts | Abbey Lynn Langley 27 May 2013 at 8:21 pm

    […] Bacon, Egg & Cheese Sandwich […]

  38. […] Breakfast Grilled Cheese Sandwich […]

  39. Linda Kloc 20 June 2013 at 9:00 am

    add sliced tomatoes and it’s called an EYE OPENER :) had one of these almost 20 years ago LOL!

  40. Sausage Cacciatore | I'll Have Seconds! 22 July 2013 at 7:56 pm

    […] Ron’s birthday went wonderfully We had these bacon, egg and grilled cheese sandwiches for breakfast, which were really awesome!! For lunch I made chicken quesadillas, and then for […]

  41. Yritha 2 August 2013 at 5:29 pm

    Saw this and made it for lunch really good, the eggs did overcook. Next time going to put some hash browns and ham. No more need to go spend 10 – 15 bucks at a Denny’s. Its supper quick and easy.

  42. 8 Great Grilled Cheese Sandwiches 19 August 2013 at 10:12 pm

    […] Grilled Cheese with Bacon and Fried Egg – Simply […]

  43. Ramona 17 September 2013 at 10:32 pm

    Add a fried egg to this. ..

  44. mjoydub 19 August 2014 at 1:15 am

    Holy “beep”, does that look good! I think I would add some nice campari tomatoes for a little acid to cut all that delicious fat. On my list of things to try.

  45. Shannon 19 August 2014 at 3:49 pm

    Love that idea!

  46. Recipe Bucketlist ’14-’15 | inpursuit 23 August 2014 at 11:29 am

    […] Breakfast Grilled Cheese […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,061 other followers

