Fast Yeast Bread

I don’t know why I don’t make fresh bread every day. I really should with a recipe like this one for Fastest Yeast Bread from Mark Bittman. You can literally make the dough and bake the bread within 1 hour, although I think it tastes better the longer you let it rise. This isn’t the world’s best bread, but it sure beats what you get at the grocery store. And you can make it every day, without having to quit your job! Here’s the recipe.

Fastest Yeast Bread

From How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman.

  • 3 cups (about 14 ounces) bread or all-purpose flour, plus more as needed
  • 2 teaspoons instant yeast
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup warm water (1¼ cups if you omit the olive oil), plus more if necessary
  • ¼ cup olive oil (optional)
  • Coarse salt to taste (optional)
  • one tablespoon of minced fresh herbs–such as parsley, dill or sage–for variety (optional)

Combine the flour, yeast and salt in a food processor. Add the water all at once, with the machine on; add the olive oil and continue to mix, about 30 seconds total with the food processor. Add water by the tablespoon if necessary, until a ball forms. (I usually do need to do this, but it requires no more than an additional tablespoon or two of water.)

Shape the dough into a flat round, adding only enough flour to allow you to handle the dough. Let rise in the warmest place in your kitchen, covered, while you preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Brush the loaf with water, sprinkle it with coarse salt if you like, and bake for 15 minutes. I usually bake it on a preheated pizza stone. Lower the heat to 350 degrees and continue baking until done–the crust will be golden and crisp–about 30 to 45 minutes more.

Serve warm with butter or jam. This bread also makes good toast or even sandwiches.

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “Fast Yeast Bread

  1. Kate 8 June 2011 at 8:53 am

    Thanks for posting this. I’ve been enjoying this blog for a few weeks, now.
    I tried this bread recipe yesterday when a small dinner I thought was canceled was suddenly back on and making this fit the schedule much better than leaving home to go buy some… It was very good, even though I under-baked it just a tad. (How do you tell?)
    I added chopped sun-dried tomatoes and an herb blend to echo what I used in some roasted chicken. It was a hit, and turned out to be a beautiful color. I made a loaf rather than rolls and followed your idea to bake on a pizza stone. yummy. I can’t wait to see how it will turn out when I actually get it thoroughly baked. Thanks, again.

  2. Shannon 8 June 2011 at 10:06 am

    Kate: Two things I look for when judging whether bread is done. One is a nice golden brown color. And the other is that it sounds a little hollow when you thump it on the bottom. I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe and that you made it your own.

  3. Michaele Maurer (@gentlyferal) 11 June 2012 at 4:06 pm

    It’s too hot to bake today but we have a solar oven and we need bread quick! I’ll let you know how it turns out :)

  4. Michaele Maurer (@gentlyferal) 11 June 2012 at 10:50 pm

    Well, the flavor was delightful — I added milk and an egg and used all whole-wheat flour. Twenty minutes wasn’t enough time for it to rise at all. I let it go for an hour and it didn’t rise ver high. It baked well enough in the solar oven, though

  5. [...] using MOSTLY Mark Bittman’s recipe for fast yeast bread http://simplycooking.wordpress.com/2010/09/03/fast-yeast-bread/but I’ve put extra ingredients in the dough (the idea for adding canned pumpkin came from a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,061 other followers

