A Quick Soup for Lunch or Anytime

I have been trying to eat more soup lately, at least for one meal a day. When I’m feeling a little under the weather and rundown, which seems to be the norm this winter, nothing hits the spot like a bowl of soup. Soup is also filling and an easy way to sneak in lots of veggies.

But it can seem like a chore to make a pot of soup, especially in the middle of a busy day. With just a little planning, though, I can turn leftover cooked meat, vegetables, and pasta or rice into a quick soup anytime.

The most important part of the soup is its base, the stock. A rich, satisfying, full-bodied soup requires a homemade stock. Making stock ahead of time is easy to do. Just let a big pot simmer away while doing other things around the house or, better yet, break out the slow cooker. Here is my method for making stock.

I usually make chicken stock on a Sunday afternoon. After cooling it in the refrigerator, I freeze it in two-cup containers. In the evening, I pop a container of frozen stock into the fridge to defrost overnight, and I’m all ready to make a bowl of soup for lunch the next day. (Defrost more containers if cooking for more than one person.)

When it comes time to make lunch, I compose the soup out of anything I find in the fridge that is either already cooked or will cook quickly. Of course, I make sure that the flavors are well-matched, too. I usually stick to five or fewer ingredients for a simple, nourishing soup. Here are some ideas for what to add:

  • any cooked meat, shredded or sliced small
  • diced bacon, crisped in the soup pot before adding the stock
  • leftover cooked vegetables
  • fresh greens, such as spinach or bok choy
  • canned or fresh tomatoes, diced
  • canned or cooked beans, rinsed
  • boiled or roasted potatoes
  • cooked pasta or rice

Heat 2 cups of stock per person in a large pot over medium. Add the ingredients and let cook at a low simmer for 10-15 minutes to heat through. Finish the soup with a swirl of olive oil, a pat of butter or a sprinkling of grated cheese, plus salt and pepper to taste. Serve with bread or crackers.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “A Quick Soup for Lunch or Anytime

  1. Naomi 7 February 2013 at 2:29 pm

    Soup is such a great idea – it’s great for leftovers, easy to make (usually!! lol) and can be really economical. Thanks for reminding me that I’ve got to get more soup into my life.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,061 other followers

