Comforting Potato-Broccoli Soup

This is the soup I always make when it’s rainy outside and I want something warm and comforting in my tummy. It is based on my basic formula for Creamy Pureed Soup.

Potato-Broccoli Soup

Serves: 2
Time to make: ~30 minutes

  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • ½ onion, diced
  • 2 medium Yukon gold potatoes, cubed
  • 1 small bunch broccoli florets
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • salt, pepper and other seasoning to taste
  • scallion greens, sliced, and grated cheddar cheese to garnish

Heat the oil over medium-high. Saute the onion until golden. Add the potatoes, broccoli and stock. Season — I like this soup a little spicy, so I use Penzey’s Northwoods Fire Seasoning. Reduce heat to medium, cover and let simmer until the potatoes are tender. Remove from the heat and puree, adding more stock if you need to. Gently warm through. Garnish and serve.

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Comforting Potato-Broccoli Soup

  1. […] to Strain Yogurt for Soup and Other Things Posted on 23 April 2010 by Shannon Broccoli and potato soup is one of my fallback recipes. I end up often, when I’m low on ideas or haven’t been to […]

Leave a Reply

