Review: Fast Food Nation

Cover of "Fast Food Nation"
Cover of Fast Food Nation

Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser (2002)

Yes, this book has an agenda, but it’s not what you might have guessed. The main theme is not how fast food is so bad for you (although that is mentioned), but rather how the business practices of mega-corporations–as exemplified by the fast food industry–are bad for everybody: farmers, workers, consumers. I think Schlosser makes quite a convincing argument, especially when he ties in the appalling workplace conditions at slaughterhouses to the safety of the meat you eat (believe me, I’m glad I decided long ago to give up beef). And he exhorts all of us to action, by demonstrating how consumer pressure on big corporations like McDonald’s can result in positive change that years of government regulation couldn’t bring about.

I’m happier when I don’t eat fast food. I like my food to taste like something, and I want it to be good for me too. In this book, Schlosser has just given me a myriad more reasons to avoid the stuff.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: ,

One thought on “Review: Fast Food Nation

  1. cooknkate 24 October 2006 at 11:07 pm

    That book left me with a really bad taste in my mouth….and too many ugly images in my head. I give it to people when they tell me about their latest fast food meal, and I want to convince them once and for all that what they just ate was CHEMICALS, not food

    CHEMICALS! And we, as a country wonder why everyone is so fat

Leave a Reply

