You Say It’s Your Birthday

Yes, it was my birthday this week. I’ve reached a milestone, of sorts. All year doctors have been telling me that if I want to get preggers, I’d better get on with it, because once I hit this age, my fertility starts to decline. No pressure or anything. I feel like I’ve reached the top of a hill and am now starting down the other side. I apologize to all readers who are older and wiser, but that is the moment I am in right now. I’m sure it’s just the first hill of many. But it’s a funny age when you look in the mirror and see both zits and gray hairs.

It really is time for me to decide what I’m going to do with my life.

The birthday dinner was truly fabulous, though. We went to a great local restaurant called Four Square. I haven’t eaten there since my last milestone birthday. The nice thing about being the only wine drinker at the table is that rather than committing to a bottle for the entire meal, you can order a different wine by the glass with each course and devise your own tasting menu, which is precisely what I did. For the first course, I had a “ravioli” made from thinly sliced celeriac wrapped around a mousse made somehow from cauliflower, with a wonderful sweet, dark sauce, accompanied by a glass of Alsatian pinot gris, slightly sweet but not dessert-like. For the second course, I had a pan-sneared snapper in a pickled watermelon rind vinaigrette, accompanied by a very dry and citrusy sauvignon blanc. Last course was a chocolate pot de creme topped with merinque and accompanied by sweet and syrupy muscat. And that all adds up to a perfect birthday.

Best Recipe of the Week

I didn’t do a lot of cooking this week, mainly because I was on my own a lot and was trying to eat up Thanksgiving leftovers. But I did make one recipe out of The New Best Recipe that definitely goes in the “keeper” file. Salad with Herbed Baked Goat Cheese was inspired by a restaurant favorite but was surprisingly easy to reproduce at home. The goat cheese was rolled in herbs, dipped in egg and then crusted with crushed Melba toasts of all things, so that it got brown and crusty on the outside, warm and melty on the inside when baked. I think the salad was actually superfluous; served with some crusty bread, the cheese itself would be a nice appetizer.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “You Say It’s Your Birthday

  1. CookingChat 2 December 2006 at 12:38 pm

    Happy birthday! Sounds like a great meal. Today’s actually my birthday. Seems like this is our only night to be at home over a two+ week stretch so our plan is to stay in, make food (I’m thinking steaks with a horseradish pan sauce) and splurge for a special bottle of wine.

  2. cooknkate 2 December 2006 at 3:50 pm

    Happy birthday!

    mine is in three months, not a milestone. B-days are better now that I am older, I used to not like them when I was younger but now I feel like I can celebrate my age. It’s good to be happy where you’re at…..

Leave a Reply

