Review: Julie and Julia

Julie and  Julia CoverJulie and Julia, Julie Powell (2005)

What do you do when you feel trapped in a dead-end job (a feeling I can relate to)? You could cook every recipe in Julia Child‘s Mastering the Art of French Cooking in 365 days. Sounds crazy? I’m not convinced it wasn’t, but Julie Powell did it.

Most of this book has the breathless, rushed, diary-like tones of blog writing, which makes sense because it originally started as a blog. But there is something more here that makes reading it worthwhile: some really nice interludes imagining Julia Child as she discovers her life’s calling; and the underlying message that sometimes you have to take odd twists and turns to get to happy. After all, it is all about the journey, isn’t it?

I could use a little of that spirited inspiration myself. If Julia Child can come to cooking at the ripe age of 37, and Julie Powell can find fame, fortune and a new life as a writer from a whimsical blog, then there’s hope for all of us.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “Review: Julie and Julia

  1. cooknkate 4 December 2006 at 11:05 am

    I read the book, I read the blog and I have read some other writings that she has done. Her book tour blog is pretty funny, but also reads like a drunken ode to stardom. She’s pretty funny, and yes, she caught a great break. I have come across blogs that aspire to bookdom simply because Julia did it, but for me, it’s just a creative outlet.

  2. shannonoz 4 December 2006 at 12:01 pm

    I agree about blogging as a creative outlet. That’s why I do it, as well, and also as a personal journal for my own reference. What I think is fascinating is the weird, unpredictable turns that life can take. Who would have thought that such a goofy project, which she obviously took on for her own reasons, would have such results?

  3. myfamilylife 4 December 2006 at 12:32 pm

    I used to love watching Julia Child on TV cooking in her own crazy but interesting ways 🙂
    YOU ARE INVITED to join my Fair Recipe Trade! Check out my lates post on my blog and let me know if you are interested 🙂 I hope so…

  4. cooknkate 5 December 2006 at 12:01 am

    forgot to mention, i tagged you for a christmas meme on my site….stop by to see!

  5. […] Julie and Julia, Julie Powell (2005) — What do you do when you feel trapped in a dead-end job? You cook every recipe in Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking in 365 days. […]

Leave a Reply

