A New Addition to the Kitchen

Our New Stove We were very excited this week to receive our late Christmas present to ourselves: a new stove (click the photo for a full-sized view). Sure, it is not the stainless steel, gas burner, professional-size stove I would like to have one day in my dream kitchen, but it is definitely an improvement. The burners on the old stove all slanted in to the middle, so I could not saute anything evenly, and the broiler smoked so badly that it gave my dogs anxiety attacks. The new ceramic cooktop is so nice to cook on, although I am paranoid about cracking it, because of course it costs as much to repair as it does to buy a new one (another sign of our throwaway culture).

The first thing I cooked in my new oven was Spoonbread (recipe from Cook’s Illustrated American Classics). Spoonbread is like a souffleed cornbread that definitely looks impressive, but even though it is a Southern specialty and I’m a Southern girl, I still prefer good old-fashioned cornbread. I made this for Sunday breakfast along with scrambled eggs and chicken and apple sausage links.

Spoonbread

Best Recipe of the Week

I committed so many sins. I used dried lemongrass instead of fresh. I didn’t have shallots, so substituted leeks and garlic instead. I had the wrong kind of mushrooms, also dried. I omitted the cilantro and serrano chiles altogether. About the only ingredients I got right, besides the chicken, were the coconut milk, Thai red curry paste, lime juice and fish sauce. But it didn’t matter, because Cook’s Illustrated Thai-Style Chicken Soup (from the January ’07 issue) was still incredibly delicious. We’re talking “drink the broth down once you’ve eaten all the good bits” delicious. And it was an incredibly simple recipe that would probably taste even better if I got more of the ingredients right.

Recipe Failure of the Week

I swear, I followed the instructions exactly. And the Creamy Sweet Pea Soup (recipe from The New Best Recipe) looked gorgeous in the pot, with an emerald green color and a thick, creamy texture. But when I got to the step where I was instructed to strain the soup through a fine mesh strainer, something went wrong. Maybe I didn’t blend it enough; maybe my interpretation of the word fine was a bit too literal. But the beautiful, thick soup came out a watery, dull green, blah liquid that I just didn’t want to eat. And I ended up with little pea skins everywhere like the scene of some sort of bizarre massacre. Did I really want pea soup this badly? The answer is no.

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “A New Addition to the Kitchen

  1. Ernie Geefay 15 January 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Hi
    Nice to see you are giving Thai food a try
    If you’d like to watch a Thai cook Thai food, go to
    http://www.thaifoodtonight.com
    Click on the link “recipes” and you can watch videos my wife an d daughter cook up over 30 different Thai dishes…recipes and ingredients included…all for free

  2. cooknkate 16 January 2007 at 12:16 pm

    I love Thai food, it’s one of my favs to experiment with. And I am a little jealous of your new stove. After our stove took 25 minutes to heat to 425 one day recently, I told my hubby that our next major purchase was going to be a new stove.

    btw, I tagged you for a meme on my site

  3. Marty 16 January 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Hmmm, I didn’t get to partake in either the best OR worst recipe. Sigh…

    Though I don’t miss the Thai food that much.

  4. Rachel 21 January 2007 at 4:10 pm

    I bet that was soooo good! I looks awesome.

    You’ll have fun with Thai food. It ends up costing alot to get all the sauces and stuff at first, but they last a long time and you can do so many different things.

Leave a Reply

