Roasted Red Pepper & Yogurt Dip

Another big-time party is coming up, so time for a couple of dip recipes to hit my blog. This dip is a very pretty coral color, super-easy to make, tangy and really good. It goes well with crudites and pita chips. No one will ever guess you used yogurt (yuck!) for the base. (Actually, I eat plain yogurt almost every day for breakfast, so I am a fan of the flavor.)

Roasted Red Pepper & Yogurt Dip

Serves: many people
Time to make: ~5 minutes with pre-roasted peppers

In a food processor, proccess together:

  • 1 cup roasted red peppers — jarred or roast them yourself under the broiler until the skins turn black
  • ½ cup plain yogurt (not low-fat!)
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped
  • salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to taste

Notes:If you use jarred red peppers packed in olive oil or vinegar, substitute some of the liquid from the jar, but reduce the amount a bit.

If you roast your own red peppers, let them steam for about 10 minutes in a paper bag after roasting. This will make it easier to remove the skins. But don’t stress about peeling every bit of skin off, since the smoky flavor will just add to the flavor of the dip.

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper & Yogurt Dip

  1. Shawnda 3 February 2007 at 8:45 pm

    I’ve been to the grocery store three times in two days. I’m tempted to go back first thing in the morning for a jar of red peppers – it’s the only thing I’d need to make this! What’s ONE more dip on Super Bowl Sunday?

  2. Linda 6 February 2007 at 4:47 pm

    yum-my this sounds delicious. i’m in love with your blog design!

  3. Donna Reeh 14 June 2011 at 12:58 pm

    why can’t you use non-fat yogurt? Just wondering.

  4. Shannon 14 June 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Donna- Hmm, it’s been so long, I can’t remember why not. Maybe because full-fat yogurt has more body? You could try it with non-fat and let me know how it works out.

  5. Day 45/90 | COOKING WITH SOME HELP 22 June 2013 at 6:10 am

    […] I really cant believe this, I am halfway there!! Forty five days! Never thought I would come this far. But I have. And you have to deal with this.  So my favourite these days is coloured peppers, red and yellow, not green. I used them again today, in a recipe. I was in an alien kitchen today, so my helper today was my friends mother, who actually made today’s dish. So, thank you so much aunty!  I was at her house and decided to blog from here, to show you choons how versatile I am. So, I decided to make a dip, involving a tub of yogurt lying in my fridge, and red peppers. Here is the recipe source: https://simplycooking.wordpress.com/2007/02/02/roasted-red-pepper-yogurt-dip/ […]

  6. Anthony 23 December 2013 at 11:06 pm

    Try using 0% fat Greek yogurt. It has the body.

Leave a Reply

