Spanish-style Chicken Salad

I served this chicken salad at my tapas party last weekend, and it was a big hit. Not only was it a vibrant red color, but it tasted great too. Of course, the moment of embarassment came when one of my guests asked me how I had gotten the roasted chicken so moist. I had to confess that I hadn’t done it — the local grocery store had! Yes, I had used a store-bought roasted chicken breast to save time.

Well, why not? It cuts down on the stress of party prep. The roasted red pepper dressing added all the flavor punch I needed, and it made the dish really unique. It was a good shortcut, one I’ll use again (although next time, I may not confess to it).

Spanish Chicken Salad

Spanish-style Chicken Salad

Serves: 6 as an entree
Time to make: ~15 minutes with pre-cooked chicken

To make the dressing, puree together:

  • ½ cup olive oil
  • 3 tbsp. sherry vinegar
  • 1 cup roasted red peppers
  • 1 garlic clove
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Pull the chicken off a bone-in, roasted, whole chicken breast in shreds, removing the skin
  2. Toss the chicken with the dressing and the rest of the salad ingredients:
    • 1 shallot, minced
    • 2 celery stalks, thinly sliced
    • 2 tbsp. capers
    • ½ cup sliced almonds, toasted
    • minced parsley

Notes: This recipe was adapted from one published in Cook’s Illustrated magazine. All amounts are approximate and subject to the cook’s whim.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spanish-style Chicken Salad

  1. Shawnda 16 February 2007 at 11:32 am

    I bet that was a hit – it sounds and looks delicious!

  2. […] Spanish-style Chicken Salad – a roasted chicken salad with a roasted red pepper vinaigrette […]

Leave a Reply

