What a Difference a Week Makes

This has been a tough week. One of my closest friends pretty much lost everything he owns in a fire. Added to the shock of that and the relief that he was out of town at the time, plus the helplessness of wanting to do something and not feeling like anything I do is enough, I have also been hit in the face with a real reminder of what is truly important in life.

The most important thing of all is time. Time to spend with people we love. Time to spend doing things we love. Time to just enjoy what we have and where we are. Because it can all change in a moment, and you don’t know when that moment will be.

When something like this happens, it makes me question very closely how I spend my time. Am I getting the most value out of the limited time I have? Am I focusing too much on acquiring and maintaining things? Am I making the best contribution I can to the world in the work that I’m doing?

Unfortunately, it is hard to hold onto this frame of mind. Real life intervenes, and we get busy again. But I am going to try, at least once a day, to remind myself that it can all disappear in an instant, so I should value it now.

While I was busy ignoring my garden this week, those tiny sprouts from last week tripled in size. I’m really enjoying watching them and wondering what they will grow up to be. I hope it is something delicious!

Sprouts

One thought on “What a Difference a Week Makes

  1. dylan555 4 June 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Someone here at work said they might be pumpkins…

Leave a Reply

