We Have Pumpkins!

It’s become clear over the past week that the mysterious volunteer squash (there are actually 2 plants) in our garden is indeed a pumpkin plant. See the evidence for yourself:

Pumpkins

So I think we can safely say that we have an honest-to-god pumpkin patch in our tiny side yard garden. I will be looking for the Great Pumpkin around October.

In other news, the herb circle is in full and riotous bloom:

Herb Garden Blooming

I certainly have not noticed any absence of bees around here, and that’s a good thing.

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “We Have Pumpkins!

  1. Pam 3 July 2007 at 7:06 pm

    I also have a volunteer squash plant in my garden, which may be a pumpkin. It’s funny because all I grow are tomatoes and hot peppers, so I don’t know where this came from.
    I’m not sure how to post a link, but can you look at this pic and tell me if it looks like your pumpkin?

  2. Shannon 4 July 2007 at 11:03 am

    It’s possible but hard to tell until the babies get bigger. The leaves and flowers look just like the pumpkin plant or a summer squash/zucchini plant. However, pumpkin is likely because their seeds can hang out in compost. That’s how we got ours.

  3. Another Volunteer « Simply Cooking 18 July 2007 at 5:20 pm

    […] this not look like a young, green butternut squash? I spotted it all tangled up in the volunteer pumpkin. A brief investigation concluded that there isn’t some sort of mutant vine but actually two […]

  4. […] 2007 Filed under: Gardening, Life — Shannon @ 8:47 pm Unfortunately, it looks like the volunteer pumpkin and butternut plants that had sprung up in my garden didn’t make it. I had to pull out all but one today and throw […]

Leave a Reply

