Mediterranean-Style Roasted Vegetable Salad

Are you overrun in garden goodness? Then try this salad. It was a big hit at our house and is chock full of delicious veggies. While I made it with eggplant and squash, I think it might also take well to additions or substitutions of tomatoes and sweet peppers. A little bit of roasted chile is absolutely essential, though — the mild bite makes this salad special.

Mediterranean Roasted Vegetable Salad

Mediterranean-Style Roasted Vegetable Salad

Time to make: ~30 minutes
Yields: 4-6 servings

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Cut 1 eggplant and 2 summer squash/zucchini into fairly large chunks.
  3. Add 1 onion, sliced, and 1-2 mild chiles such as Anaheim, diced.
  4. Toss all the vegetables in a roasting pan with 2 tbsp. olive oil, coarse salt and pepper.
  5. Roast until browned at the edges, about 25 minutes.
  6. Whisk together 2 tsp. garlic paste or 2 pressed garlic cloves, 2 tbsp. olive oil, 1 tbsp. lemon juice and 1 tsp. cumin.
  7. Toss with the vegetables and add more salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Sprinkle over with shredded basil.
  9. Serve hot or at room temperature.

Notes: All amounts are approximate and based on memory. Taste and adjust as you go.

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “Mediterranean-Style Roasted Vegetable Salad

  1. harmonia 4 July 2007 at 8:14 pm

    YUMMERS!

  2. núria 5 July 2007 at 2:33 am

    Hello Shannon,I like your blog and I think I can learn some recipes from you and also some vocubulary I need for my brand new blog. Want to come and visit? I’m spanish and have some genuine recipes! Can I add you to my blogroll? In one or two days I’m uploading Gazpacho (veggies summer soup – super refreshing) and lobster rice…
    Thanks,
    See you!
    http://areyouhungry.wordpress.com

  3. Shannon 5 July 2007 at 8:55 am

    @nuria: I will definitely check out your blog. Thanks for visiting!

  4. Anita Hoffman 12 April 2009 at 12:39 pm

    I am looking for a recipe for roasted vegetables that is made up of zucchini, yellow squash, tomatoes and asparagus.

    Please help me.

  5. Shannon 12 April 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Anita: You could certainly make this recipe with those ingredients. Just substitute the asparagus for the eggplant and add in the tomatoes. I think it would be delicious.

  6. Deviled Egg 4 February 2010 at 2:05 pm

    My mouth is watering reading this recipe! This sounds like something my husband and I would love!

  7. Deviled Egg 4 February 2010 at 10:42 pm

    I ended up making this tonight along with your corn chowder. YUM! This recipe is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

