Another Volunteer

butternut, originally uploaded by shannon_turlington.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but does this not look like a young, green butternut squash? I spotted it all tangled up in the volunteer pumpkin. A brief investigation concluded that there isn’t some sort of mutant vine but actually two vines living quite comfortably together.

So perhaps we’ll be having both butternut and pumpkin soup this fall.

Now if I can only figure out what the mysterious vines with the tiny yellow flowers that insist on trailing way out of the garden boxes and onto the lawn are.

Tagged:

8 thoughts on “Another Volunteer

  1. snapdragons 19 July 2007 at 10:37 am

    Yep. I think your pumpkins have been making rendezvous with the neighbor’s squash.

  2. cooknkate 20 July 2007 at 5:42 pm

    I have volunteer pumpkin plants in my garden too, we always toss our halloween ones out there for the deer. One plant looks like pumpkin, but the other one does not. I can’t tell if it is zucchini or not, but it is some type of squash that is trying to take over the star magnolia bushes next to it. Every day I go out and disentangle the tendrils, admonishing it to grow elsewhere.

  3. Tracey 10 July 2009 at 11:00 pm

    I too have this same mysterious squash growing within my cucumbers. I grew these from “cucumber seeds” yet I’ve got tons of these as well as what I think is summer squash. The actual real cukes are from a seedling that I KNOW is cucumber. How does this happen??

  4. Shannon 11 July 2009 at 8:19 am

    Maybe you got a batch of mixed-up seeds?

  5. Rhonda 18 June 2012 at 11:12 am

    You had a young butternut squash 🙂

  6. Sang 24 June 2012 at 10:37 am

    I have something growing out of my compost bin, which my mother seems to think is a butternut squash… Looks like a tiny version of the picture above. I think these seeds stay in the warm, comfy compost environment all winter and are sprouting all over the place when we put the compost in the garden.

  7. Jerry Furminger-Black 17 July 2014 at 10:56 am

    I took seeds from what I call a normal ‘ golden’ butternut squash…but my new plants are now producing something similar to what is in your picture. Will they turn ‘golden’ or are they a different variety? Sorry if I am being stupid, it’s just I have never tried squashes before. Thanks 🙂

  8. Shannon 17 July 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Leave them to ripen and they should turn golden.

Leave a Reply

