Pumpkin Demise and Vacation Eating

Unfortunately, it looks like the volunteer pumpkin and butternut plants that had sprung up in my garden didn’t make it. I had to pull out all but one today and throw them back in the compost for another try next year. I don’t know whether it was the unrelenting heat or the lack of rain that did them in. They may have also been too crowded. If we have volunteers next year, I’m going to thin out the seedlings better and maybe transplant the strongest plants to their own bed.

We’re heading out for vacation, so I’ll be posting even less than usual — in other words, not at all, since we’ll be Internet-free. We’re spending a couple of days in Las Vegas (my first time) before driving up to Utah. In Vegas we plan to do some good eating. We have a reservation at Thomas Keller’s restaurant Bouchon and a list of other places we should try. Since we’ll only be there two days, we’ll have to be a little choosy, but I hope to have some good restaurant experiences to report on when we get back. The eating may not be quite so good in southern Utah, but I do plan to do a whole lot of nothing while I’m there and rebuild my energy reserves, so I can get back to cooking when I get home.

See you in a couple of weeks!

Tagged: , ,

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Demise and Vacation Eating

  1. Dausta 13 August 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Sorry to hear that your pumkin and butternut plants didn’t make it…. Hopefully next year you will have great success with both. Have a blessed safe vacation.

  2. cooknkate 18 August 2007 at 10:37 am

    Sorry to hear about the pumpkins. My volunteer squash vine has five nice squash on it, but at least 5 others have shriveled. Apparently they need a lot of water!

    My hope is that they taste yummy.

  3. Shannon 23 August 2007 at 11:18 am

    Water is the one thing we are not getting. This area is in drought, and after returning home from vacation, the whole garden looks pitiful. But what can you do? We are always at nature’s mercy.

  4. […] definitely keep an eye on this cantaloupe and see if it fares better than my other volunteers. At last check, it was still mostly green but definitely shading toward ripe. I’m getting […]

Leave a Reply

