Bacon Is Back

Since I’m pregnant, I’m only supposed to be allowing good healthy things to pass into the temple of motherhood that is now my body (sarcasm definitely on). And for the most part, I have been. Fruit, yogurt, broccoli, spinach, eggs, stuff like that have all been in my diet of late.

But something new has crept in, something I haven’t deliberately eaten in years. Yes, I’m talking about bacon.

Why bacon? I wouldn’t call it an actual craving, although I did start thinking about it rather nonstop. Perhaps it’s because I got to thinking about the BLTs of my childhood summers and I craved some comfort food. Or more likely, I just wanted some fatty, salty goodness. In the last few days, I have gobbled down two BLTs and one wonderful helping of scrambled eggs atop pan-fried potatoes with bacon. There were no awkward discussions, no negotiations — just me and bacon, together again.

I have a feeling bacon is here to stay now, and it may bring with it some Italian cousins, such as prosciutto and panciuto. It is a versatile fat and flavoring, and by not eating it, I’m missing out on a lot of great recipes, I’m sure. Everything in moderation, they say. It is possible to be healthy and enjoy yourself too.

Tell that to the gallon of rocky road whispering to me from the freezer.

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Bacon Is Back

  1. porcalina 24 September 2007 at 3:45 pm

    yey bacon!

Leave a Reply

