Retooling “Simply Cooking”

I’ve been thinking about how to make this blog more focused and also have its own distinct place in the immense food blogosphere. Since I first started blogging almost a year ago, I’ve learned a lot about what readers are interested in, what I’m interested in, the time commitment required (a lot more than I thought it would be!) and food blogging in general (a lot more going on and a lot more of it of very high quality than I thought, as well). I’ve tried out different formats for posts and topics. Now I think is a good time to narrow in on a niche, something I really enjoy writing about and don’t see a lot of other people blogging on.

The thing is, there are a lot of recipe blogs out there, many of them quite superior to mine. In fact, one of the joys of entering this world was discovering this rich source of new recipes (see my Blogroll for some great examples). Also, while I love to cook and try out new recipes, posting recipes is not that exciting for me — unless I happen to post a recipe that I think is truly exceptional and worthy of sharing.

I feel like I need to return to my root inspiration, the name I chose for this blog: Simply Cooking. What has most inspired me is teaching myself how to cook, learning basic techniques well and adapting them, being able to turn out a wonderful meal from the simple ingredients I have on hand without even relying on a recipe. When I look back at my blog, I see that the most popular posts are the ones where I share what I learn, such as how to make a great quick tomato sauce for pasta or how to put together a simple green salad.

I also enjoy the journey and the discovering — there is always something new to learn about food and cooking! Trying something and having it fail is as interesting to me as trying something that succeeds. Discovering new ways of doing something in the kitchen, especially if it simplifies the process of cooking, is my idea of fun. Always keeping in mind my basic principle: keep it simple to keep it good. That rule of thumb works for the best chefs, and it works for me trying to put a tasty and healthy dinner on the table every night too.

So from now on, this blog is going to focus on simple cooking: techniques, tips, tricks, new ideas, even disasters and the lessons learned from them. When I post recipes, I’ll focus on those that are easy to learn and adapt — “master recipes,” as I like to call them. Of course, every now and then, I’ll still discover an extraordinary recipe that I just have to share as well.

I’m hoping this narrowing in focus will help keep me inspired and keep me blogging. I hope it will inspire you too.

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “Retooling “Simply Cooking”

  1. jolynna 26 September 2007 at 10:09 pm

    I think your focusing the blog to what you are most interested in cooking is a good idea. I love to cook and actually my favorite recipes are ones that would be classified as basic.

    I am looking forward to your tips and ideas and recipes.

  2. Shannon 27 September 2007 at 8:38 am

    Thanks, I think it will help focus my efforts in the kitchen as well, which have been pretty unfocused as of late.

  3. Pam 27 September 2007 at 6:40 pm

    It sounds like a great idea. I can’t wait to see where you take this.

Leave a Reply

