A Great Smoothie

Being pregnant, I have been advised to drink more milk, something I don’t really like to do. Since I am wanting to eat a lot of fruit anyway, I have found that smoothies are a good way to sneak more milk into my diet. In case you haven’t encountered one of the thousands of smoothie shops that have popped up everywhere, a smoothie is a drink blended from fruit, milk and/or juice, and other ingredients. It’s like a milkshake, but without the ice cream.

Supposedly, smoothies are very healthy, but I suspect that the ones you order in the smoothie shops are loaded with calories and sugar. But all too often the smoothies I made at home didn’t have a lot of flavor or were watery with pureed fruit floating in it — not too appetizing. I’ve been playing with the ingredients, and I’ve finally come up with a healthy, make-at-home smoothie recipe that reminds me, at least, of a genuine milkshake.

Smoothie

Yields: 1 serving

  • Blender
  • ½ cup milk or orange juice
  • ½ cup plain yogurt
  • 1 cup berries or soft fruit, fresh or frozen
  • 1 banana (optional)
  • 1 tsp. or more honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Add all ingredients to the blender. Puree well and enjoy.

The yogurt makes the smoothie creamy and helps the puree hold together. I prefer to use frozen fruit because it chills the smoothie and gives it more of an ice cream consistency. Also, it’s easier for me to keep bags of organic frozen fruit on hand for whenever I want a smoothie. I like mixed berries, strawberries and peaches, but the choice is up to you. As long as it will blend, it can go in! I also like to add a banana to help thicken the smoothie, but it isn’t necessary. The vanilla and honey add a touch of sweetness and punch up the flavor. You don’t really need too much honey to achieve a satisfying sweetness, just enough to augment the natural sweetness of the fruit.

Of course, you may want to experiment with throwing in other ingredients. I saw some intriguing green smoothie recipes over at A Veggie Venture that gave me some ideas for how to get even more healthy stuff into my smoothie.

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “A Great Smoothie

  1. Alanna 1 October 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Good for you, finding ways to take care of you and your baby! Go ahead, throw in a little ‘green’ some time too! : – )

  2. chocolateshavings 2 October 2007 at 10:12 pm

    Those sound good… and healthy! Smoothies are great to make at home, because they are so often overpriced in restaurants. Plus, you can control the amount of sweetness that goes into your drink.

    I hope the baby is liking them too!

    http://www.chocolateshavings.ca

  3. Kate 15 April 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Hey! i LOVE this smoothie! i just made it, and i’m really picky.

    i had to add a couple more frozen strawberries, and some ice, but it was delicious.

    and it seems really healthy too.

  4. lily 11 July 2011 at 11:08 am

    that was awesom!!!!!!! just had it!!!! more plz!!!!!!

  5. Healthy, Meet Delicious | Simply Cooking 28 April 2013 at 2:47 pm

    […] smoothie recipe also looks good, and is very similar to one I make often, especially during the summer […]

Leave a Reply

