Cooking the Book: Fresh Every Day by Sara Foster

Fresh Every Day CoverI love cookbooks. In fact, some (like my husband) might say that I’m obsessed with them. When I get a new cookbook, I like to go through it several times, noting which recipes I want to try, getting a feel for the style of cooking that’s presented, figuring out whether there is anything new to be learned from this cookbook.

One thing I often obsess about is cooking every recipe or nearly every recipe in a cookbook. For some cookbooks, like Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything or The New Best Recipe, this isn’t really practical. These gigantic tomes better serve as reference books for looking up a particular recipe or technique when it’s needed. For instance, last weekend I had a great coq au vin when we went out to dinner. I had never attempted it myself and I wanted to try it, so I turned to the Best Recipe. Of course, there was a recipe for coq au vin, which I plan to try out this weekend.

For other cookbooks, the recipes and often the photographs inspire me to try most of the recipes in the book. Such a book is Fresh Every Day by Sara Foster. Foster’s Market is just up the road in Durham (check out their website for a new recipe every month, and Sara Foster also has a video blog there). It’s a popular place, especially for breakfast. When I saw the cookbook, the beautiful four-color photographs of fresh, seasonal dishes immediately seduced me into buying it. And once I started paging through it, I wanted to try making almost everything.

The recipes are simple with a Southern flair, but with enough new ideas to keep me interested. They are based on using fresh ingredients in season and are aimed squarely at the home cook. There are lots of great tips scattered throughout, such as the suggestion to use leftovers from the roasted mashed sweet potatoes I plan to make for Thanksgiving in the sweet potato biscuits.

Over the next few months, I intend to cook quite a bit out of this book. I’ve already picked out several Thanksgiving-style dishes, not just the sweet potatoes but also pan-roasted carrots and Italian-style green beans. Stay tuned for the results!

Tagged:

12 thoughts on “Cooking the Book: Fresh Every Day by Sara Foster

  1. Katie B. 14 November 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Make the macaroni and cheese with chicken and spinach!!! Its DREAMY!!!

  2. Shannon 14 November 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Absolutely, I will. All of my favorite things! Thanks for the suggestion.

  3. Pam 14 November 2007 at 7:09 pm

    I thought I was the only one who thought about making every recipe in a book! I just thought it again yesterday, while browsing through a Donna Hay cookbook, but then I came to a lima bean recipe and that ended that!

  4. dylan555 17 November 2007 at 11:01 am

    So that’s where you’ve vanished off to! Damn that Sara Foster. And to think, I’ve been eating lunch at her place once a week.

  5. jolynna 18 November 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Fresh Every Day does sound like a great cookbook. I especially like that it sounds like it is basic home cooking. Southern cooking is especially good and flavorful, too.

    I really like what you have done with your site.

  6. […] Cooking the Book: Fresh Every Day by Sara Foster […]

  7. A Harvest Thanksgiving Menu « Simply Cooking 30 December 2007 at 1:48 pm

    […] Pan-Roasted Carrots (recipe from Fresh Every Day) […]

  8. […] « Cooking the Book: Fresh Every Day by Sara Foster Southern-style Cornbread & Sausage Stuffing […]

  9. Greens Cooked with Bacon « Simply Cooking 7 January 2008 at 6:37 pm

    […] Inspired by a recipe from Fresh Every Day. […]

  10. […] Foster’s Market. (Those of you who don’t live around here may be familiar with Sara Foster’s cookbooks.) Everyone who has a newborn knows that early evening is their fussiest time, and so it’s […]

  11. […] that I have tried from Sara Foster’s Casual Cooking, the follow-up to the wonderful cookbook Fresh Every Day. I have been loving Fresh Every Day so much that when I saw this new book in the store, I had to buy […]

  12. […] Pan-Braised Carrots with Orange, from Fresh Every Day […]

Leave a Reply

