BPA-Related News

There is a lot of news about BPA going around the Interwebs this week. What is BPA? It is a chemical found in certain types of plastic, including baby bottles, that has been found to mimic the hormone estrogen and is possibly linked to some cancers, birth defects and developmental problems. This should concern anyone who has children, drinks bottled water or otherwise consumes food or drink from plastic containers. Here are some links:

Speaking of green, Amazon has launched Amazon Green, a guide to green products available for purchase there. As much as I try, I can’t stop loving Amazon. They have a large selection of organic and green products, and many are available with free super-saving shipping. This week I’ve purchased there glass baby bottles and silicone nipples, super-cute wooden toys (no plastic) and this ingenious energy-saving power strip for our entertainment center.

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “BPA-Related News

  1. dylan555 21 April 2008 at 3:17 pm

    I’m starting to think that progress=cancer now. Why not just go back to glass and paper?

  2. polythenepam 21 April 2008 at 5:41 pm

    I have been giving up plastic packaging at the rate one wrapper a month for over a year now. I started because I didnt like what plastic was doing to the environment – as I have found out more about it I am seriously worried about the effects of plastic on our health. Thankfully I have sourced a number of products that dont come wrapped in plastic. My life is almost plastic free, my bin is a lot emptier, my mind less troubled and I am worshipped by marine mammals. Result.

  3. Shannon 21 April 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Polythene Pam – Thanks for sharing! I aspire to do what you are doing, and like your method of doing it gradually. I would love for marine mammals to worship me too! Who wouldn’t?

Leave a Reply

