I Hate This Commercial!

I hate this commercial for Dixie paper plates. Basically, it’s a bunch of moms saying that because they use disposable plates, they can spend more time with their family, which makes them better moms than me, I guess.

Why do I hate this commercial so much? Let me count the ways:

  1. It promotes throwing even more trash into landfills rather than taking 5 minutes to wash the dishes. If you have a new-fangled dishwasher, you don’t even have to rinse them first!
  2. It promotes spending your money over and over on something you don’t need (paper plates) rather than just buy once something you can reuse for years (real plates), which just isn’t fiscally responsible for busy working families.
  3. Isn’t that what you had children for, to bring someone into the world who you can make do all the chores you hate, like the dishes? Stop spoiling them already!
  4. Finally, if you’re so concerned about spending time with your family, why don’t you do the dishes together? Or is that cutting into your TV time?

I wish I could boycott Dixie on account of this commercial, but I already don’t buy disposable paper plates and cups. If you feel moved to boycott them on my behalf, please let me know in the comments!

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “I Hate This Commercial!

  1. Sarah J 14 May 2008 at 8:12 pm

    I completely agree! It irritates me every time I see it. Thanks for this post!

  2. Sarah J 14 May 2008 at 8:14 pm

    While I can’t boycott them (since I don’t buy them).. I did write them at:

    http://www.gp.com/contactus/contactus.asp?pk=1&mk=0&mo=15

    thanks for hte inspiration.

  3. Shannon 15 May 2008 at 7:27 am

    Great idea, Sarah! I’m going to do the same.

  4. oldbluesocks 15 May 2008 at 9:05 am

    Oh yes! Count me among those completely insulted by this advertisement!

  5. A Student's Life 19 May 2008 at 3:27 am

    yea I was thinking the exact same thing when I first saw this commercial. What were they thinking?

  6. James Schwartz 19 May 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I was appalled to see that commerical, so I decided to write a blog about it as well. Then I came across your blog and I completely agree with you, except my reasoning is solely from the environmental perspective.

    I found it funny that there are people out there who actually argued that washing dishes with dish soap is worse than disposing of dixie products. Ridiculous. (See: http://groups.google.com/group/sci.environment/browse_thread/thread/b6ce706becf89a4a)

    I also wrote to Georgia Pacific to let them know how much their commercial makes me fume.

  7. Jonathan 17 June 2008 at 9:01 am

    OMG! you are hilarious!! this is like the “rachel ray” mentality – cut corners (which are marketed to let everyone believe it’s really adding time into your already too-busy lives) and be happier!

    the lie is that most of the crap that cuts corners are more expensive and bad for the environment in one way or the other. i’m so sick of this type of marketing. why not just work a bit less? why can’t we market that idea?

    amy @ we are never full

  8. Shannon 17 June 2008 at 9:28 am

    Amy-
    I can’t agree more. I am totally on the bandwagon with working less. In fact, I work hard every day to try to achieve that goal. 🙂

  9. Superficiality 20 June 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Superficiality

Leave a Reply

