Rotini with Swiss Chard & Sausage Ragu

Please forgive me for posting this rich, hearty, warming pasta recipe in the middle of summer. Yes, this is truly a wintry dish, but it was so good that I couldn’t wait to share it with you.

This is the first recipe that I have tried from Sara Foster’s Casual Cooking, the follow-up to the wonderful cookbook Fresh Every Day. I have been loving Fresh Every Day so much that when I saw this new book in the store, I had to buy it. It is full of gorgeous food photos and easy, adaptable recipes for entertaining and family dinners. Like this one.

Some notes before I give you the recipe. The original recipe claims to serve 4-6, but the quantities were enormous. I cut down the quantities quite a bit, and I think it will still comfortably serve 4. Also, this pasta doesn’t reheat very well, I think because the sauce is so reduced — which makes it so thick and flavorful — that there isn’t enough liquid to facilitate reheating. So plan to eat it all when you make it.

And do make it, even if you have to bookmark this recipe until a more appropriate season. But with all the fresh greens and herbs, there’s no reason you can’t make it right now.

Rotini with Swiss Chard and Sausage Ragu

Yields: 4 servings
Time to make: ~45 minutes

What you need:

  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • ½ onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Italian sausage links, sliced or crumbled (I used chicken sausage)
  • 1 14.5-oz. can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • ½ lb. rotini or other large pasta shapes
  • ½ bunch Swiss chard, stemmed and roughly chopped
  • handful of basil leaves, sliced
  • 1 tbsp. fresh oregano, chopped
  • 1 15-oz. can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • grated Parmesan to taste
  1. Heat the olive oil over medium
  2. Saute the onion until translucent, 4 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic and saute 1 minute.
  4. Add the sausage and brown about 5 minutes.
  5. Add the tomatoes and stock.
  6. Reduce the heat to low and simmer 30 minutes, until reduced and thickened, stirring occasionally.
  7. Meanwhile, cook the pasta and reserve a cupful of the pasta cooking water.
  8. Add the drained pasta to the tomato mixture along with the Swiss chard, herbs and beans.
  9. Add enough reserved pasta cooking water to ensure that the sauce coats everything.
  10. Cook until the chard wilts and the beans are warmed through, about 4 minutes.
  11. Season and garnish with Parmesan.

Adapted from Sara Foster’s Casual Cooking.

This is my entry for Presto Pasta Nights, hosted this week by Chew on That.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Rotini with Swiss Chard & Sausage Ragu

  1. Melissa 25 June 2008 at 7:05 am

    Wow, this is just gorgeous! My kitchen is torn apart, so I can’t make this for a while yet, but when I can, I will definitely let you know what I think. Did not plant chard yet this year (kitchen delays, lost seeds, other excuses), but I’ll have to see if I can still get some in the ground (chard may have to wait to be planted til fall as a cool weather crop, can’t recall just now).

  2. Hillary 26 June 2008 at 11:20 am

    I love pasta with lines on it, like rigatoni and this sort of rotini! This dish looks perfect. Thank you for entering it into this week’s Presto Pasta Nights! 🙂 Can’t wait to post it tomorrow.

  3. Sophia from Kitchen Caravan 27 June 2008 at 8:37 am

    I love swiss chard, and have been seeing it everywhere at the farmers markets. This pasta looks so fresh and delicious. Tubular pastas are my favorite, especially when paired with fresh summer veggies!

  4. Shannon 27 June 2008 at 10:55 am

    So maybe this is a summer pasta dish after all!

  5. Presto Pasta Night #69! | Chew On That 27 June 2008 at 11:04 am

    […] Rotini with Swiss Chard and Sausage Ragu Brought to us by Shannon of Simply Cooking, I can’t think of a more well balanced and delicious pasta to have for dinner. Sounds yummy! Click on the photo or link above for more details on this pasta dish. […]

  6. […] Comments Presto Pasta Night #69! | Chew On That on Rotini with Swiss Chard & Sausage Ragu (Sara Foster’s Casual Cooking)Shannon on Rotini with Swiss Chard & Sausage Ragu (Sara Foster’s […]

  7. Ruth 27 June 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Definitely one of my favorte combinations. And although it’s summer, I have a feeling there wil still be the odd rainy cold day where this will be perfect.

    Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights.

  8. […] Comments Ruth on Rotini with Swiss Chard & Sausage Ragu (Sara Foster’s Casual Cooking)More Encouragement to Get Gardening « Simply Cooking on Rotini with Swiss Chard & Sausage […]

  9. liz 13 May 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Thanks for posting this recipe. My entire family LOVED it. We are going to try it with the beans tonight although we left them out last time. Thanks!

  10. Shannon 14 May 2009 at 9:09 am

    Liz, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’ve found the recipes from Sara Foster’s cookbooks to always be a hit with my family.

  11. Rondola 21 September 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Absolutly delicious! My kids loved it and i can’t believe I got them to eat Swiss chard.

Leave a Reply

