Green products, I’m not happy with you

Toilet paper

Image via Wikipedia

I think of myself as an environmentally aware person. I really believe that we all need to do as much as we can to preserve our environment’s health. So I try to buy green products whenever I can, especially since I think they are probably healthier for my family and me as well.

But if these products don’t do the job they’re supposed to, I’m just throwing my money away. And I don’t like to feel like I’m getting ripped off, even if it is better for the environment.

For instance, lately our dishes haven’t been getting very clean. I thought it was the dishwasher; my husband wanted to try a different soap. We switched back to Cascade, and sure enough, all the dishes were sparkling again. (Did I mention how much I hate it when my husband is right?) I guess that environmentally friendly soap wasn’t very environmentally friendly when you consider how many times I had to rewash the dishes. I’m looking at you, Seventh Generation. (I still like your diapers and wipes, though.)

And no, I don’t think my butt’s too good for toilet paper made from recycled paper. I’m even willing to spend a little more, if it’s good for the environment. But when I take out a new roll and see how little paper is on it, I feel like I’m getting ripped off. How does that advance a green cause?

Toiletries are another area where I can’t seem to find good green products. The mouthwash I bought leaks all over the bathroom counter. The face moisturizer isn’t as effective as my old non-green brand from Target. The very expensive new brands of lotion and shampoo I’ve been trying just aren’t worth the money.

I am a loyal shopper, and when I do find a good brand, I will stick with it. Here are some green brands that I really love:

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Green products, I’m not happy with you

  1. dylan555 28 October 2008 at 8:39 am

    Why do you hate it when I float a theory that turns out to be right? I was very diplomatic in how I handled it!

  2. Shannon 28 October 2008 at 9:28 am

    Yes, you were, I just don’t like to be wrong. But I can admit it when I am.

  3. dylan555 30 October 2008 at 10:08 am

    I do think that the toilet paper has gone down in quality. It seems that the green brands at Weaver Street are often inferior to the green brands at Harris Teeter. Or am I off base about that?

  4. Shannon 30 October 2008 at 1:31 pm

    No, I think you are right.

  5. pam 31 October 2008 at 9:23 pm

    I agree, it’s kind of a hit or miss trying to find good quality green products. Have you tried Citra Dishwasher Detergent? It’s the best green dishwasher product that I’ve found.

  6. Shannon 1 November 2008 at 8:20 am

    Thanks for the suggestion, Pam. I’ll look for that brand.

Leave a Reply

