A Question About Mayonnaise

I love homemade mayonnaise. It is creamy and delicious and super-easy to make in the food processor. But I don’t make it often, and here’s why.

All of the recipes I have call for either 1 egg or 1 egg + 1 egg yolk and 1 cup of oil. This makes 1 cup of mayonnaise. Because it contains raw egg, my cookbooks advise me to keep the mayonnaise only 2 days in the refrigerator. Now, even if we ate mayonnaise at every meal, I doubt my family could go through 1 cup of mayonnaise in 2 days. And I hate flushing most of my mayonnaise down the sink. So I generally only make it when I’m out of the jarred stuff or I’m having a party.

Perhaps one of my loyal readers can help me. Is there a way to make homemade mayonnaise that keeps longer? OR cut down the recipe? Would using 1 egg yolk and ½ cup of oil work, for instance?

I eagerly await any advice in the comments.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged:

5 thoughts on “A Question About Mayonnaise

  1. Katy W. 4 August 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Hey! Not sure how far ahead you’d get on a one-yolk recipe, since this is still one egg? Unless you want to make meringue or something with that egg white.

    So I have some ideas for using your your homemade mayo:

    chicken salad, tuna salad, veggie salad, macaroni salad, carrot apple raisin salad, etc. These can make great sides, sandwich stuffings, ways to use up leftovers. Blanched broccoli w/ nuts, dried fruit, and some cheddar tossed in mayo is a good veggie + fruit delivery vehicle for some picky eaters 🙂

    You can also easily make dip of all sorts using mayo + yogurt or sour cream.. just add fresh or dried spices, and know that it will get stronger the longer it is mixed (this still sorta relegates it to parties and kids, though)

    Other less conventional mayo uses:
    – You can use mayo as a binder in some casserole recipes (typically the ones that would use a can of cream of condensed whatever)
    – You can use mayo as the ‘glue’ for breading cutlets, etc. (this doesn’t use much)
    – You can bake cakes using mayo in replacement of the egg and oil
    – Canned pears or peaches with a spoonful of mayo and some shredded cheddar shows up sometimes in the South. Don’t care for it myself.
    – I have heard of people using mayo as a conditioner for hair and skin. It’s also supposed to kill lice, as an alternative to the weird chemical lice shampoos they stock in the store.

    Have you ever tried freezing it? I would think it would break, but you never know until you try.

  2. genie28 4 August 2009 at 8:03 pm

    From Ratio (Ruhlman’s book): 1 egg yolk, 1 tsp water, 1 tsp lemon juice, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 cup canola.

    He uses an immersion blender and this makes 1/2 cup.

    Personally, I think you have more than a 2 day window. And Ruhlman agrees: he says 1 week if well wrapped (to keep out off flavors).

  3. Shannon 5 August 2009 at 6:25 am

    Awesome! Thank you so much. I have to get that book.

  4. Shannon 5 August 2009 at 6:28 am

    Thanks for all the ideas, Katy. I don’t know if you could freeze it. I would be reluctant to try.

  5. […] A Ques­tion About May­on­naise (simplycooking.wordpress.com) Share and Enjoy: […]

Leave a Reply

