My Wish List: Cookbooks I Want for Christmas

First let me say that I am sorry I have kind of gone AWOL on this blog. First, I went on vacation, then I had to recover from my vacation, and I just haven’t cooked much that I felt was blog-worthy lately. But yes, I have been neglecting this space, and now that cooler weather is here, my thoughts have turned to my Christmas wishlist. This is when I start reading cookbook reviews and dreaming about what I want to find under the tree because I’m too cheap to buy it for myself.

First up, thanks to Pam at Sidewalk Shoes for alerting me to The Flavor Bible. This looks like a fantastic reference to have in the kitchen, and a great inspiration for creating my own recipes.

The name of this blog is Simply Cooking, and I’m a sucker for cookbooks that incorporate that concept of cooking simply but creating fabulous food. That’s why I’m taken with Pure Simple Cooking: Effortless Meals Every Day. Along those same lines is Urban Italian: Simple Recipes and True Stories from a Life in Food, which combines simple cooking with one of my favorite cuisines, Italian.

A couple of food bloggers/authors I read have new books out that I’m drooling over. David Lebovitz’s new book, The Sweet Life in Paris, is a memoir with recipes, and it definitely looks drool-worthy. I’ve also long been coveting Michael Ruhlman’s Ratio: The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking.

Finally, it wouldn’t be the holiday season without drooling over a big coffee-table cookbook with gorgeous photos and delicious recipes. I pick Thomas Keller’s Ad Hoc at Home, which I hope will be released in time for the holidays.

What cookbooks or food writing is on your wishlist? Do you have any further suggestions for mine? Leave ’em in the comments.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , ,

One thought on “My Wish List: Cookbooks I Want for Christmas

  1. pam 22 September 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Thanks for the link love! Also, those 2 simple books sound great!

Leave a Reply

