A New Direction for the New Year

I first started this blog a little over three years ago as a way to teach myself about cooking and keep track of what I was learning. I also wanted a project during a stress-related hiatus I was taking from work and a way to learn about blogging. Well, I think I accomplished all of those things, and as a result, this blog has become somewhat fallow.

I have become comfortable with many basic cooking techniques and memorized many key recipes so that I hardly ever cook from a recipe anymore. When I do, it’s because I want to learn something new, so I usually follow the recipe to the letter, and I don’t like to copy other peoples’ recipes on my blog. So that has left me with not much to write about. In the meantime, I have expanded my writing to several other blogs, which hasn’t left a lot of time for this one.

But this blog still receives a decent number of visitors, more than any of my other blogs. And it is still my first blog. So I don’t want to just abandon it, at least not yet.

I decided in 2010 that I would try to post what I cooked for every day that I actually did cook. Some days it may just be a list of dishes. Other days, it may include recipes or notes on what I learned. You may find this project very dull. If so, you don’t have to read it. I may find it very dull. If so, I don’t have to continue posting. But who knows? By trying something new, and getting away from just posting recipes, I may stir up some inspiration. So I’m going to try it.

I hope you’ll stick with me and let me know what you think in the comments. If I post a particular dish that you would really like the recipe for, please also let me know, and I will do my best to put it up.

3 thoughts on “A New Direction for the New Year

  1. michael steeleworthy 31 December 2009 at 6:00 pm

    i love your 2010 resolution to blog your dinners, however marvelous or mundane they might turn out! maybe i’ll try the same!

    the real question is – which meal to record?

  2. pam 31 December 2009 at 8:13 pm

    I think it sounds like a great idea. I love to see what people cook in their day-to-day lives, that’s what it’s all about.

  3. Pat Turlington 3 January 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Glad to see that you are continuing with this blog. I enjoy your comments and efforts. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

