A Simple Mushroom Salad

Yesterday we went to my dad’s house for the traditional New Year’s Day meal of hoppin’ john and collards. I don’t know if it’s still good luck to eat these things on the second day of the year, but I’ve gotta figure that at least some of the luck must still be around.

My contribution was, as always, a salad. I hardly ever use recipes to make salads anymore. Most of the time, I find an ingredient that looks good and build the salad around that. This time, it was cremini mushrooms. I sliced them thinly and tossed them with greens, diced red onion, crumbled bacon and goat cheese. I dressed the salad with a simple sherry vinaigrette.

The flavors went well together, but I think I am going to stop using goat cheese in salads. The texture is just too soft, and no matter how gently I toss, it seems to muddle with everything.

Planned for tonight: chunky chicken minestrone.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: ,

One thought on “A Simple Mushroom Salad

  1. brandy 9 January 2010 at 12:47 am

    happy to come to your site..full of good stuff.

Leave a Reply

