A Simple Pan-roasted Meal

Last night my husband wasn’t feeling too good, so I scrapped the recipe I had planned to make. Instead, I simply pan-roasted a chicken breast. Once the chicken was browned on both sides, I added a few wedges of cabbage to the pan and sprinkled them with salt, pepper, minced garlic and a little olive oil. I covered the pan and let it cook over a lower heat until the chicken was cooked through and the cabbage had softened and browned on the edges. It was simple and delicious.

Earlier in the day, I had made a lemon and herb mayonnaise, which I drizzled over the chicken to give it a little oomph. However, the mayonnaise turned out a little thinner than I like, and the olive oil taste was overwhelming. I haven’t yet perfected my recipe for mayonnaise, and it seems like each cookbook has a different way of making it. I do think that the delicate flavors of mayonnaise just cannot stand up to the strong flavor of olive oil, and it’s better to use a more neutral oil (unless you’re making something like aioli, with all that garlic). Or at least substitute half neutral oil for the olive oil called for in some recipes. I’ll keep working on it. I really want to be able to make a good mayonnaise every time.

Tonight, if my husband is feeling up to it, I’m going to try to poach salmon using Thomas Keller’s technique from Ad Hoc at Home. Plus roasted brussels sprouts. I haven’t had brussels sprouts all winter.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “A Simple Pan-roasted Meal

  1. Back to Bakas | Asian Orange Chicken 8 January 2010 at 8:48 pm

    […] A Simple Pan-roasted Meal (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Denise 9 January 2010 at 9:56 am

    I really like chicken cooked this way. I do the same thing with a turkey breast and it’s enough to feed two at least twice. Speaking of roasted brussels sprouts, I had those for the first time recently and am hooked. I’ve never met a brussels sprout I didn’t like but I love those. Do you have a recipe for that or is it a fly by the seat of your pants dish for you?

  3. Shannon 9 January 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Chicken always turns out well this way. I should try it with turkey sometimes. The brussels sprouts were really easy; I’ll try to post the method later on today so please check back.

Leave a Reply

