Court Bouillon, Poached Salmon & Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Last night I poached a couple of salmon fillets using Thomas Keller‘s method from Ad Hoc at Home. Well, I didn’t actually use his method, since I don’t have a working thermometer and his method depends entirely on taking the temperature of the poaching liquid and the fish. (I really need to replace my meat thermometer.) I just eyeballed it, and it turned out really good anyway, very moist and perfectly cooked.

The recipe was super-simple. I’m actually surprised by how simple many of the recipes in Ad Hoc at Home are, given Keller’s reputation. It calls for a court bouillon, or a quick broth, as the poaching liquid (I’ve included my version below). Poach the salmon in the court bouillon until it is cooked through, sprinkle it with salt and serve hot or cold (you could serve with a vinaigrette or mayonnaise if you choose to).

Alongside it I serve some brussels sprouts that I had roasted. A recipe really isn’t necessary. I sprinkled the whole sprouts with salt, pepper, olive oil and diced bacon. I roasted them at 425 degrees for about 20 minutes. My husband and I both agreed that the flavor was very strong, and while some may prefer their brussels sprouts that way, we like them better cooked in liquid, when they have a milder taste. So I probably won’t make them that way again.

Tonight I have a crowd coming over for dinner. I have broken out the slow cooker to make a sausage minestrone, so I don’t have to bother too much about dinner at dinnertime. More details tomorrow.

Court Bouillon

This is a quick broth, useful for poaching seafood or vegetables, or as a base for a seafood soup. In a stockpot, combine:

  • 2 quarts water
  • 2 leeks, trimmed and chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1½ cups onion, chopped
  • 10 peppercorns
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 thyme sprig
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and smashed

Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and add:

  • 1 cup white wine
  • ½ cup white wine vinegar
  • 1 halved lemon — squeeze in the juice, then add the lemon halves

Bring to a simmer again. Strain, if desired, and use in the recipe. If used for poaching, strain afterward and refrigerate. The broth can be used one more time.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Court Bouillon, Poached Salmon & Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. […] Court Bouillon, Poached Salmon & Roasted Brussels Sprouts (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Goedkope Scooter 15 January 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Reminds me of a bad habbid of mine. Strange that memories trigger because of a blog post haha. I am a bit sad now even though it aint because of the post itself :/

  3. How to Make a Gratin « Simply Cooking 28 March 2010 at 1:06 pm

    […] a Gratin Posted on 28 March 2010 by Shannon For dinner last night, to accompany a simple poached salmon, I made a classic potato gratin. This one turned out a lot better than the gratin I attempted at […]

Leave a Reply

