Pasta Frittata and Blue Cheese Dressing

Pasta Frittata is a recipe that I’ve had on my “to try” list for a long time, but I’ve put off making because it sounds so weird. It is just what it seems like: a frittata that is made with leftover spaghetti or similar pasta (I used linguine). I don’t know why it seems so strange to me. The recipe I used calls for the same ingredients in a classic Carbonara: eggs, bacon, Parmesan and pasta. It’s just cooked like a frittata instead. Even my husband balked a little when I told him what I was making, so I wasn’t the only one who thought it sounded strange.

The frittata turned out pretty good, if a little plain. It definitely did not taste weird, though. The pasta adds some texture to the frittata, a little heft, but not a lot of flavor. I probably wouldn’t make this again unless I had some leftover cooked pasta that I was trying to get rid of, and next time I would add more vegetables and cheese. All things considered, Carbonara is definitely the tastier way to go.

On a totally unrelated note, when blue cheese is on sale, I love to buy a chunk and feast on green salads with blue cheese dressing. This is completely a guilty pleasure, but I try not to indulge too often. Here is my recipe:

Blue Cheese Dressing

Mix together:

  • ¼ cup blue cheese, crumbled
  • 1 tbsp. buttermilk or milk
  • 2 tbsp. mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp. sour cream
  • 1-2 tsp. red wine vinegar (to taste)
  • 1 tbsp. parsley or chives, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

