Snow! Plus Tacos & Mexican Rice

Yesterday the snowpocalypse was predicted for central North Carolina. They were calling for up to 12 inches (we’ve gotten about 6 inches so far), which is simply unheard of around here. If you don’t live in the South, people tend to lose their minds here a bit when it snows. Everyone rushes out to the store in a mad panic for milk, bread and toilet paper.  Then as soon as the snow starts to accumulate, people remember they just have to return that video or some other excuse, and they all go out driving. So far this morning, we’ve had about 400 wrecks. It’s definitely safer to cower indoors until it melts.

I did my provisioning yesterday (coffee, wine, bread — all the important stuff), so I am prepared to wait this thing out. This morning, I even made pancakes because I still have some buttermilk in the fridge. Snow makes even an ordinary Saturday seem like a holiday.

Last night, I made tacos, which I like to do on Friday nights because it’s a good way to use up the little bits of food that tend to accumulate by the end of the week: some chopped onion, a small hunk of cheese, half an avocado, etc. I added poached, shredded chicken and the remainder of the jarred salsa I have. To go with it, I made Mexican rice, similar to what is served on the combo platters in the low-end Mexican restaurants. The rice is cooked with a pureed mixture of tomatoes, onion and garlic. I’m not a big fan of rice anyway, and this recipe wasn’t a hit with me, so I don’t think I’ll make it again.

I might do some baking today, and make some soup. Snow on the ground puts me in a baking mood.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

