The Secret Ingredient Is Corn

Cornbread

Image via Wikipedia

If last night’s dinner was on Iron Chef, the secret ingredient would have been corn. For the main course, I served a warming corn and potato chowder, perfect for a snowy day. It was accompanied by a hearty cornbread. Why so much corn? I was mainly trying to use up the bag of frozen corn I opened (I didn’t quite succeed), plus the two dishes seemed to complement each other.

Since I started the soup early in the afternoon, I finished the corn and potato chowder in the slow cooker, but it would have worked just as well on the stovetop. My only issue was that I got hungry and turned off the slow cooker a little too early, so the potatoes were not as tender I would have liked (they were still edible, though).

This recipe is a little different than the previous one I used. I added bacon and thickened the soup with flour. Most chowders call for cream, but I omitted it, opting instead to stir in a spoonful of sour cream just before serving. The updated recipe is below.

To go with it, I made cornbread in a skillet (which is the best way, in my opinion). I wanted something hearty, so I added more corn and grated cheddar. It was delicious, and leftovers will be tasty as a snack or breakfast.

Corn & Potato Chowder

Serves: 4
Time to make: ~30 minutes

  • 4 slices bacon, diced
  • ½ medium onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 tsp. bouquet garni or dried thyme
  • ¼ cup flour
  • 3 cups chicken stock or water
  • 2 potatoes, diced
  • 2 cups corn, thawed if frozen
  • a few drops of Tabasco or 1 4-oz. can roasted chiles
  • salt to taste
  • shredded Monterey Jack and/or sour cream for garnish

Crisp the bacon over medium. Add the onion and garlic, and saute until translucent. Add the herbs and flour, and cook 3 minutes. Add the stock and bring to a boil, whisking. Add the remainder of the ingredients. Reduce to a simmer; let simmer until the potatoes are tender, about 30 minutes. Alternatively, transfer the soup to the slow cooker and cook for 3 hours on high or 6 hours on low. Season to taste. Garnish as you like.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Secret Ingredient Is Corn

  1. Deviled Egg 4 February 2010 at 1:25 pm

    This recipe sounds delicious! I’ve never tried to make corn chowder but the bacon in this recipe is tempting me. I’m going to run the recipe by my husband and see if he wants to try it out. Well I just asked him and he says the recipe sounds “Killer”. 😀

  2. Deviled Egg 4 February 2010 at 10:49 pm

    I ended up making this Corn Chowder tonight and it was a BIG hit at my house! Everyone went back for seconds. I followed the recipe exactly only doubling it. This recipe is going in with my favorites. 😀

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

