Pasta, Risotto-style

Have you ever cooked pasta in the style of risotto? I got the idea from Mark Bittman, and I’ve done it a few times now. It really is delicious, and it’s so nice to have an alternative way to cook pasta that doesn’t involve bringing a gigantic pot of water to a boil (it’s probably more energy-efficient, too).

You can probably use any risotto recipe and simply substitute cut pasta for the rice. Last night, I made it using penne. I sauteed some mushrooms, onions and garlic in olive oil first. Then I added the pasta, stirred it around to coat it with oil, and added a little white wine. When that evaporated, I added the chicken stock, one-quarter cup at a time, until the pasta was cooked through. Just before it was done, I threw in some cubed chicken breast.

A different way to cook pasta is definitely appreciated.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Pasta, Risotto-style

  1. […] Pasta, Risotto-style (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

  2. More Risotto-style Pasta « Simply Cooking 28 February 2010 at 9:33 am

    […] Risotto-style Pasta Posted on 28 February 2010 by Shannon Last night I made pasta in the style of risotto again. This time, I added onions, mushrooms, tomatoes and some left-over sweet potatoes. I really […]

  3. […] Pasta: boil, pilaf (orzo) or risotto-style […]

Leave a Reply

