Pre-washed Salad Needs More Washing

Just in case you missed it, Consumer Reports came out with the results of a study on pre-washed bagged salad mixes. A high percentage of their sample, including the “organic brands,” was contaminated by bacteria and fecal matter. So, uh, wash that lettuce again, if you still want to buy it now. The magazine also suggests buying bagged salad as far from their use-by dates as you can find.

Bagged salad: How clean? (Consumer Reports)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: ,

3 thoughts on “Pre-washed Salad Needs More Washing

  1. Kate 3 February 2010 at 2:02 pm

    I know it’s a consumer advocacy group and all, and I love that this article was printed, but when I scrolled down to the ‘Suggestions’ area, I was plainly shocked to see that they actually TOLD people to continue buying this product, albeit with a caveat or two. I would think that anyone with a trace of conscience would use the bit of significant clout available and try to disengage public consumption of something that is clearly unsafe. It’s way cheaper to make a scratch salad, it tastes better and you don’t have a plastic bag to toss out. Maybe CR has it’s hand in Dole’s pockets.

  2. Shannon 3 February 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Perhaps they think that people won’t give up the convenience? I admit that as the only person in the house who eats salad, I buy it for the convenience factor. I’m not going to buy several heads of lettuce just to make myself a mixed green salad — I’d probably go without.

    Your comment raises a question for me: How does unpackaged lettuce compare to bagged lettuce in terms of contamination?

  3. […] I posted about the contaminants found in packaged salads. After giving it a bit of thought, I’ve decided that all pre-packaged salad mixes count as […]

Leave a Reply

