An Idea for Leftovers + Smoked Salmon Salad

I had an ah ha! moment last night. I don’t know why this never occurred to me before. Many leftovers can be turned into a tasty meal simply by topping them with a fried egg and grating a little hard cheese over all. The egg yolk makes a delicious sauce and elevates the leftover veggies to meal status.

I tried this last night with quickly mashed potatoes and leftover steamed spinach. I mixed the two together, topped with a fried egg and grated over Parmesan. I think this would work well with most leftover vegetables, potatoes or grain dishes like risotto or polenta. I believe I could probably eat a dish like this every day (although then how would I get the leftovers?).

I also made a great impromptu salad for lunch yesterday that I wanted to share with you. I thinly sliced boiled potatoes and tossed with a dressing made of 1 part lemon juice, 1 part heavy cream and 2 parts olive oil. I mixed the potatoes with julienned raw spinach and flaked smoked salmon. Salt and pepper to taste. Great lunch!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “An Idea for Leftovers + Smoked Salmon Salad

  1. […] 2010 by Shannon Last night I continued my exploration of how anything can be turned into a meal by putting a fried egg on top of it. This time it was a mess of spinach. And it was […]

  2. […] An Idea for Leftovers + Smoked Salmon Salad (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

