Ummm, Homemade Bread

I’m getting addicted to making my own bread.

I can’t believe how intimidated I used to be by the thought of baking bread. I thought it was all kneading and finicky messing about with yeast and hot water. But thanks to the No Knead Bread recipe, plus a couple of good recipes by Mark Bittman that make judicious use of the food processor, I’ve found that making bread is not time-consuming at all. Most of the time, the dough is tucked into a corner of the kitchen or refrigerator, doing its thing. Then bake for 40 minutes or so and voila!

I am trying not to buy bread as much, but I didn’t realize that making my own bread would be so satisfying. The results may not be as pretty or consistent as the bakery’s, but they are delicious. I’m inspired to tear off a hunk of bread to spread with apple butter for my breakfast, or to break off a chunk to pair with some cheese for a mid-afternoon snack. Does it taste so much better because it’s homemade or because I made it?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Ummm, Homemade Bread

  1. aiasjia 1 April 2010 at 7:24 pm

    I also recently started using a bread machine to help me make my own bread… I think I appreciate it more because I put work into it (although not a lot of work thanks to the machine) and when it’s done there’s that awesome aroma in the house. Plus, I love that I know exactly what’s in my food!

    Love this blog, by the way. I just discovered it a few minutes ago while searching for stirfry tips. 🙂

  2. Shannon 2 April 2010 at 8:26 am

    Thanks! I think you’re right. The bread takes better because we put our own effort in it. I used to have a bread machine, but now I find the food processor works just as well for the kneading part.

  3. […] Ummm, Homemade Bread (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Ummm, Homemade Bread (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

