New Ways with Sausages

sausage, kiełbasa
Image via Wikipedia

In our household, we like to eat sausages. I buy locally made chicken sausages from our co-op, and they’re very good. Unlike most chicken sausages, these are not pre-cooked, and they come in a variety of flavors. I use them pretty much wherever I would use pork sausage: in scrambled eggs, on pasta, in stews and, of course, on a bun with sauteed peppers and onions.

But even if we never get tired of eating sausages, I do get tired of preparing them the same old way. I recently bought the cookbook Plain Simple Cooking by British author Diana Henry. To my surprise, I found quite a few new recipes featuring sausages inside. I guess the Brits eat more sausages than we Americans, because my American cookbooks are pretty much devoid of sausage recipes. Good to know.

The method I tried last night, from Plain Simple Cooking, was simple and a great new idea for preparing sausages. I first coated the sausages in a mixture of Dijon mustard and honey, then roasted them until cooked through. Usually, I brown the sausages in a frying pan or grill them, so this was a nice hands-free method to add to my repertoire. The honey-mustard glaze added great flavor too. Next time I will add more mustard (for more tang) and continue to baste the sausages while they cook. I can experiment with other flavors, too.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “New Ways with Sausages

  1. […] grill, roast or […]

Leave a Reply

