Homemade Crackers + Chicken Braised in Honey

Cover of "Jam It, Pickle It, Cure It: And...

Cover via Amazon

As part of my initiative to reduce my dependence on packaged foods, I recently bought a copy of Jam It, Pickle It, Cure It, which is full of recipes for pantry staples like mayonnaise, mustard, lemon curd and even butter. It is a beautiful book, with well-written recipes that detail exactly what you will need and how long the recipe will take and gorgeous photos. One of the first recipes I made was the crackers, because I really have been missing having a box or two of crackers in my pantry. The homemade crackers were very simple to make and didn’t take long at all. There were lots of ideas for how to vary the recipe by adding different flavors or making breadsticks or flatbreads. I can tell already that this recipe, and this cookbook, is going to become a staple in my kitchen.

For dinner, I had some chicken tenders on hand. I tried braising them in a mixture of spices, sauteed onion and honey. I browned the chicken first, then added the honey and let it cook down until it thinned out a bit. Then I added water and finished braising the chicken until it was cooked through. The flavor was very nice, just a little sweet but not overwhelmingly so. I served it with a green salad and some pan-roasted mushrooms.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

