Abundance

Fruits and vegetables from a farmers market. c...
Image via Wikipedia

Every week I get an email from my local farmers market and my co-op, telling me what’s new and fresh for sale. For months now, the list has been short, only two or three items. We’ve been subsisting on greens, sweet potatoes and butternut squash.

And now, the lists have exploded. This week alone, each email trumpeted the arrival of new potatoes, broccoli, cucumbers, carrots, sugar snap peas, green beans, summer squash and zucchini. The number of fresh, delicious fruits and vegetables available will continue to snowball.

There are some drawbacks to eating seasonally. A dearth of options abruptly gives way to an abundance of choices. Just a month ago I was wondering what else I could possibly do with sweet potatoes. Now my refrigerator overflows with fresh salads and gazpacho.

It’s a good problem to have. I’m very glad summer is here.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged:

Leave a Reply

