Hacks for Snacking Better

Dry fruit
Image via Wikipedia

Ever since I limited myself from buying packaged foods, which include chips and crackers, I have been trying to eat more nutritious snacks made from whole foods. My sense is that not only are these foods better for me, but I actually snack less and am more satisfied, which keeps my weight stable.

Here are a few tips I’ve worked out to help me snack better:

  • Put out fruit on the counter, especially nibbles like grapes and berries. When I see them, I want to eat them. (I used to have this trigger effect with candy and chips, but they aren’t allowed in my house anymore.)
  • Always keep nuts and dried fruit in the house. A handful makes for a quick and filling snack if intense hunger strikes, usually in the late afternoon.
  • Indulge in a block of good cheese. It tastes better eaten alone or with homemade bread (since there are no more crackers), and it’s also very filling. I try to vary it from week to week.
  • Indulge my sweet tooth once a week or so with a homemade treat. This week I think I’ll make banana bread.

What tips do you have for snacking better? Please leave them in the comments.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Hacks for Snacking Better

  1. Erika 6 June 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I am a stay-at-home Mom. I make a lunch for my husband most nights for the following day. I find that if I prepare a lunch for myself too, I don’t mindlessly snack or scour the fridge and cupboard all day long. It also helps with portion control. Our typical lunches are a sandwich of some sort, a small container of carrots or other veggies, a small container of almonds with dried berries and Rye Triscuts (I know, not in your cupboard anymore!), and a piece of fruit (apple, pear, orange, etc). Typically it is enough to keep me satisfied throughout the day. And it is faster than running out to grab something and much more desirable than finding a spare minute during the day to actually make AND eat a lunch!

  2. Shannon 7 June 2010 at 8:31 am

    Great tips, Erika. If only I could get it together enough to make lunch the night before. Maybe when the Kid goes to school…

Leave a Reply

