Happy New Year!

First, I want to thank everyone who commented on my last two posts and encouraged me not to give up on this blog. I really appreciated hearing from you. Sometimes, when you blog, you feel like you’re just squawking into the void. So it’s gratifying to know that people are out there reading this and enjoying it.

Over the last three years, I’ve used this blog to teach myself how to cook. I’ve chronicled my education in the best way to cook different ingredients and how to make classic dishes. I have evolved my cooking style, which focuses on simple recipes, high-quality ingredients and classic Italian, French and Mediterranean cuisines. I feel like I have learned so much through this blog, and I am a much more confident cook as a result.

This year, my husband and I have decided to keep this blog by stretching my skills somewhat. My husband plans to issue a weekly challenge that I will have to research, make (or fail at making) and blog about. The theme for the challenges will be “things my husband wants to eat.” He has promised to take pictures with his brand-new camera that Santa brought him to keep things interesting. Since we came up with this idea around Thanksgiving, I’ve gotten very excited about it. I think these challenges will keep me interested both in cooking and writing about what I cook. I hope you will find it interesting as well.

Look for the first challenge to be posted this weekend. This was actually a challenge I issued to myself and made for Christmas: a successful potato gratin. If you have any ideas for future challenges, please leave them in the comments. I promise we’ll at least consider them.

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Erika 3 January 2011 at 8:49 am

    So glad you decided to keep blogging. Love the idea for the new direction the blog will take this year. Can’t wait for more great insight — and great recipes & cooking ideas! I don’t comment often but I read regularly. I’ll try to comment more this year 🙂

  2. Shannon 3 January 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Thanks for the support! It does motivate me to know someone’s out there reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

