Focus on Cookbooks

I’m trying not to be so slack on posting my weekly challenges, but that’s not working out very well, which comes as no surprise to me. I do have a nice challenge to post this week, a fresh and vegetable-packed fish meal that serves as an antidote to last week’s chicken fingers and fries. And just as a reminder, my husband picks the challenges so he can get some meals he really wants to eat — which doesn’t always mean healthy or dishes I love. That’s part of being a good home cook, I think: cooking to please others as well as yourself. Maybe next year, my toddler will pick the challenges (right now, making mac ‘n’ cheese and toast every week would get a little boring, I suspect).

I have also purchased some cookbooks lately that I am very excited about. They all focus on Southern cooking, so maybe I’m feeling drawn to my roots. Anyway, to keep my excitement high, I’m going to try to cook 8-12 recipes from each new cookbook over the course of a month. I’ll try to make something from every chapter. At the end of that time, I’ll post my reviews here. I hope this will be a fun project that will actually inspire me to use the new cookbooks that I buy.

The first cookbook I’ll be cooking from is Sara Foster’s Southern Kitchen.

Tagged:

4 thoughts on “Focus on Cookbooks

  1. pam 18 May 2011 at 7:28 pm

    I can’t wait to see what you make out of the new Foster book. I have every one of hers and am trying to decide if I need this one too. I think I do 🙂

  2. Shannon 18 May 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Well, pam, all I can say is that if you browse through it and decide you do not need it, then you are a stronger woman than I. But I also have all her cookbooks and everything I make out of them is just great.

  3. […] Focus on Cookbooks […]

  4. […] Focus on Cookbooks (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

