Sara Foster’s Southern Kitchen: The First Recipes

As I promised, I’m cooking from my brand-new Sara Foster’s Southern Kitchen over the next month and sharing the results here. At the end of the month, I’ll post a full-fledged review, but until then, you’ll just have to ogle the pictures. Try not to drool!

Last night, our theme was a warm-weather barbecue. From the cookbook, I made this gorgeous and delicious Salt and Pepper Skillet Cornbread. Honestly, this is going to be my main cornbread recipe from now on, it’s that good.

IMG_2005

To accompany, my husband grilled chicken slathered with West Tennessee Thick and Sticky BBQ Sauce. This sauce was so easy to make, and it tasted delicious. We had simply grilled eggplant slices to accompany.

IMG_2028

I also made Sara Foster’s Pimiento Cheese. Pimiento cheese is not my favorite thing, but it tastes miles better when it’s homemade, as opposed that florescent orange stuff they sell in the grocery store. No photo, but the recipe is online, and you can serve it on toasts made from the cornbread, which here’s my little one very much enjoyed.IMG_2014

Thanks to my husband for doing the grilling and taking the photos!

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Sara Foster’s Southern Kitchen: The First Recipes

  1. […] I have started a month of cooking recipes from Sara Foster’s new cookbook: Sara Foster’s Southern Kitchen. Check out the First Recipes at Simply Cooking. […]

  2. […] Sara Foster’s Southern Kitchen: The First Recipes (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Sara Foster’s Southern Kitchen: The First Recipes (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

