Giving Up Bread for a While, plus Super-Simple Peanut Butter Cookies

I realize it’s been a long time since I last posted. As I said in my last post, lately I’ve been more improvisational in the kitchen, letting recipes inspire me rather than following them religiously. While I’ve been inspired in the kitchen, I haven’t been similarly inspired to post, mainly because I’m afraid I’ll become repetitive. Frittata is a good dish to eat week after week — to take one example — but perhaps not to read about.

Here’s something new I’m trying: not eating processed foods made with flour. That means no bread, pasta, crackers, pretzels or baked goods. I’ve also cut way back on dairy and refined sugar, although I haven’t given those up entirely. No more cream in my coffee, for example, but I’ll still have my morning yogurt with granola and berries. There are few ills that a bowl of really good yogurt can’t cure, or so I believe.

Why am I doing this? I’m hoping it will have a positive effect on my health, particularly my recurring insomnia and lack of energy. By cutting out bread-type foods, I am opening up space for more whole foods: more whole grains, fruits and vegetables. (I am not going gluten-free, though, nor am I being a fanatic about this; the idea is to reduce my consumption, not drive myself crazy.)

I’ve been at this for a week and so far, I can’t really report much difference. My sleep this week was normal, which means not great. I don’t feel like I’ve lost any weight, although ever since the batteries in my bathroom scale went dead, I’ve been a lot happier on that score. However, I will stick it out at least a month, because I don’t think I can expect any real results in less time than that.

I discovered a new recipe for super-simple peanut butter cookies this week that don’t require any flour or dairy. (They do have sugar, though.) And they are very toddler-friendly; my kid would probably live off these if he could. Here’s the recipe, which is simple enough to memorize.

Combine 1 cup peanut butter, 1 cup sugar (I think you could cut the sugar down to even ½ cup, if you wanted), and 1 egg in a bowl. Mix well (I used an electric mixer). Drop by tablespoonfuls on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper. Bake at 350 degrees for 6-8 minutes, until golden-brown. You do need to let these cool quite a lot. They get more cookie-like as they cool.

They are surprisingly good. Think of them as tiny energy bombs. Just one will keep you going on a dull afternoon.

Tagged: , ,

6 thoughts on “Giving Up Bread for a While, plus Super-Simple Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Rosalee Adams 1 April 2012 at 10:47 am

    Your ‘Giving Up Bread for a While….’ caught my eye as I was recently diagnosed with
    severe intolerance, including oats, and also eggs and dairy………..I am sensitive to
    the protein in milk not the lactose……….

  2. gerard 2 April 2012 at 9:54 am

    Gracias for all your posts!

    Can these PB cookies use Splenda or Equal, etc. instead of sugar? Or, brown sugar and honey?

    Tks.

  3. Shannon 2 April 2012 at 10:57 am

    I would encourage you to experiment and report back your results. I don’t use artificial sweeteners myself, but you could probably use honey as long as it’s well mixed. I would reduce the amount a bit.

  4. gerard 2 April 2012 at 11:01 am

    Will do, tks.

  5. Samantha 17 April 2012 at 8:45 am

    I have started Chubby Hubby on a Naturopath’s recommended Detox Diet (love him the way he is, but want him to stick around longer, hence the new diet regime ) since last week – and it coincides with your Giving Up Bread & All things processed with white flour & sugar. It’s Phase 1 of the diet and is EXACTLY what you are doing and the good news is :- he has lost 2 kg since we started it, and that was only 5 days ago! I’ve got a tip to satisfy stodge/sweet/spuds cravings : Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Cajun spice. http://vegetarian.about.com/od/potatoesandsweetpotatoes/r/sweetfries.htm
    It works a treat (and hasn’t resulted in weight gain at all) and can be incorporated into the diet, as it is “approved” carbs that isn’t processed and won’t send your diet into a tailspin.

  6. Shannon 17 April 2012 at 10:29 am

    Thanks for the tip and the recipe, Samantha. I think I have lost a little weight since I started this, although I have to admit I have fallen off the wagon a couple of times, mainly at restaurants.

Leave a Reply

