Baked Eggs for Dinner

We eat a lot of eggs at my house — not just for breakfast, but for dinner as well. When I’m tired or not feeling particularly creative, eggs are my fallback meal. I could probably eat eggs most days of the week, and why not? They are easy to cook, inexpensive, healthy and tasty.

But even though there are many ways to cook eggs, I do get tired of the tried-and-true dishes: scrambled eggs, omelets, frittatas. For a change of pace, I have been experimenting with baking eggs. There are many advantages to baking eggs. They are delicious, for one, especially if you like a slightly runny yolk. Baked eggs spend most of the time in the oven, so they don’t need constant monitoring. You can make a salad while they cook. And by adding meat and vegetables as the “bed” on which the eggs are cooked, a simple dish is transformed into a full meal.

Here is my recipe for baked eggs for dinner. It is adaptable to whatever meat and vegetables are on hand, so it’s a handy way to use up leftovers. This dish has been a great addition to my weeknight rotation. This recipe makes 4 servings.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Add 2 tablespoons olive oil to a large skillet and heat over medium-high. Add up to ½ pound meat to the skillet, such as cubed prosciutto, diced bacon or crumbled sausage. Cook until browned and remove from the heat.

Spray four ¾-cup ramekins or small baking dishes with nonstick cooking spray. In the bottom of each ramekin, make a layer of cooked, chopped vegetables, such as peas, green beans, asparagus or spinach. Or use drained, canned, diced tomatoes as a substitute. Layer a portion of the meat on top of the vegetables.

Break 2 eggs into each ramekin, taking care to keep the yolks whole. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and, if you like, a little grated cheese, such as Parmesan. Bake for 8-12 minutes, until the whites are cooked and the yolks look set. Garnish with minced parsley and serve immediately.

Tagged: ,

6 thoughts on “Baked Eggs for Dinner

  1. Kate 6 May 2012 at 1:02 pm

    How serendipitous! I just sat down here with my breakfast of Baked Eggs Florentine! I love baking eggs: this recipe has bread at the bottom, Fontina cheese, egg, and a Florentine recipe that was originally left over from Salmon Florentine. Love both dishes. Started from these two recipes a long time ago and play with them depending on what’s in the frig.
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/healthy-appetite-with-ellie-krieger-/salmon-florentine-recipe/index.html
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/herbed-baked-eggs-recipe2/index.html
    Thanks, Shannon

  2. Kate 6 May 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I just noticed that you’ve linked my site here. Makes me smile…also makes me think I’d better go write something!

  3. Stephanie 6 May 2012 at 9:05 pm

    You can also use the same basic technique to make “steamed” eggs in a skillet. Layer in a base of veg etc, add a touch of water, break in the eggs, and cover tightly with a lid. No fuss, and keeps the kitchen cooler in the summer.

  4. Erina 8 May 2012 at 1:21 am

    Just made baked eggs myself! These Florentine ones sound DIVINE!! I know what I’m having for dinner tomorrow!!

  5. scatterbrainedlass 8 July 2013 at 7:24 am

    Looks good, I think I’ll give that a go myself, always after new meal ideas!

  6. Callysta Nindya 19 November 2013 at 11:54 pm

    Ehm very nice and it is very simple to do

Leave a Reply

