Nachos

As a special Memorial Day holiday weekend treat, last night I made chicken nachos. You don’t really need a recipe for nachos. It’s more of an assemblage of tasty things you like to eat on top of an extremely unhealthy mound of tortilla chips.

This time, I made chicken nachos. I used rotisserie chicken purchased already cooked from the grocery store. I pulled off the skin, shredded the meat and tossed it with some barbecue sauce, a little bit of apple cider vinegar and a tiny bit of Tabasco. (I didn’t use all the chicken, so the rest I’ll eat in sandwiches and salads throughout the week).

I spread the chips out on a baking sheet and piled the chicken mixture on top. I then added my favorite nacho fixings: pickled jalapenos, diced tomatoes and lots of cheese, including cheddar, Monterey Jack and queso. Heat in a 400-degree oven for 10 minutes to melt the cheese and crisp the chips, then pile onto a platter. I garnished these nachos with scallions and served freshly made guacamole on the side in place of sour cream.

As you can see, nachos are an infinitely adaptable recipe, and the kind you make at home are every bit as good as the appetizers you get in restaurants. Even better, because you choose what goes on top. Some other ideas we had for topping nachos include refried beans, corn, ground meat cooking with taco seasonings, chopped onions and sour cream.

It’s not the healthiest dinner, I’ll admit, but for a once-in-a-while treat, nothing could be easier.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Nachos

  1. kat 15 July 2012 at 7:18 pm

    I LOVE nachos! That looks so yummy!!!

  2. pt626 8 August 2012 at 1:17 pm

    I love that these have chicken because I don’t eat beef!

Leave a Reply

