The Easiest Tomato Sauce for Pasta

Cover of "Essentials of Classic Italian C...

Cover of Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking

This next entry in my favorite recipes comes from Marcella Hazan‘s excellent cookbook, Essentials of Classic Italian CookingIf you love Italian food, this is the only Italian cookbook you need, in my opinion. I have made many of the pasta sauces, and they were all great. Unfortunately, I’ve cut way back on the pasta I’m eating these days.

My husband declared this tomato sauce with onion and butter to be one of the best pasta sauces he’d ever tasted. It is superbly simple to make, even easier than my go-to tomato sauce. This sauce has a light, subtle flavor that tastes best on hearty but bland filled pastas, like potato gnocchi and cheese ravioli, but is also very good on spaghetti.

I suggest using pureed tomatoes, but you can also use canned whole tomatoes and crush them with the back of a spoon while the sauce is cooking. This will result in a “chunkier” tomato sauce, though. Bionaturae is my favorite brand of bottled strained tomatoes.

Tomato Sauce with Onion and Butter

  • 1 bottle strained tomatoes(24 oz.) or 2 cups fresh tomatoes, pureed
  • 5 tbsp. butter
  • 1 med. onion, peeled and cut in half
  • Salt
  • 1½ pounds pasta
  • Parmesan cheese

Put the tomato sauce, butter, onion and salt in a saucepan. Cook, uncovered, at a slow but steady simmer for 45 minutes, stirring from time to time. Discard the onion before tossing with the pasta. Leftover sauce may be frozen without the onion.

 

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “The Easiest Tomato Sauce for Pasta

  1. […] The Easiest Tomato Sauce for Pasta (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Deborah - d.mooncrab 26 September 2012 at 12:00 pm

    I think i’m going to like this recipe because it doesn’t require a ton of ingredients. Thank you for sharing it!

  3. […] The Easiest Tomato Sauce for Pasta (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Jamie 3 October 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I am used to cooking something similar to this, although I don’t use pureed tomatoes. Instead I use fresh tomatoes, peel them, remove the seeds and cut the rest into tiny pieces. Plus I love to add some cream cheese into the sauce when it’s almost done, because in my case, there is never enough cheese in my sauce & pasta!

  5. isaiah43123 6 October 2012 at 7:52 pm

    I’m surprised at the lack of basil or oregano, and garlic. Hmmm…

  6. Shannon 9 October 2012 at 8:32 am

    It has a very pure, light flavor. Try it.

  7. Easy Papardelle al teléfono | lasesana 22 October 2012 at 2:23 pm

    […] The Easiest Tomato Sauce for Pasta (simplycooking.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

